S.M.'s Camping World Update, No. 19

Horn FanSenior Writer INovember 21, 2008

2009 Team News

David Starr will be back with Red Horse Racing, in the No. 11 Toyota Tundra and Zachry's Holdings, Inc. has re-newed it's sponsorship for 2009.

Rick Crawford will back with Circle Bar Racing, in the No. 14 Ford F-150 and International Diesel will be back as sponsor in 2009.

Ron Hornaday will be back with Kevin Harvick, Inc., in the No. 33 Chevrolet Silverado, both Camping World and the VFW will be back as sponsors in 2009.


Speed TV Enjoys It's Best Ever Season Rating Wise

With the dramatic finale in the NCTS, Speed peaked at more than one million households, making 2008 the most watched season since 2003 when the series moved to the network.

"The race at Homestead-Miami Speedway scored a Nielsen Household Rating of .96 (702,000 households), up 146 percent from last year's .39 (286, 000 households). The broadcast peaked at 1.39 (1,021,000 households) and marked the highest year to year average rating increase of the season". (speed.com)

"The 2008 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series season on Speed was the highest rated ever, averaging a .80 and 585,000 households. On the year 19 of 22 races on Speed saw year to year Nielsen Rating's increases, 15 in double digits." (speed.com)

Awards Banquet Winners

The final Awards Banquet for the Craftsman Truck Series was held Monday night at the Seminole Hard Rock Hotel and Casino Grand Ballroom and here's the list of winners.

Champion: Johnny Benson

Rookie of the Year: Colin Braun

Most Popular Driver: Johnny Benson

Wix Filters Lap Leader Award: Ron Hornaday

Featherlite Awards: Ron Hornaday

Mobile 1 Contingency Award: Johnny Benson

Goodyear Contingency Award: Johnny Benson

Sunoco Contingency Award: Johnny Benson

Manufacturer Champion: Toyota

Speed TV on Dec. 8th at 8:00PM will air highlights from the banquet.

NASCAR.com Latest Poll Question

Which Series was the most entertaining in 2008? Here's the results as of 3:12AM 11/21.

Truck Series: 22,087 votes for 53%

Cup Series: 14986 votes for 36%

Nationwide: 4329 votes for 10%

Speed Bump

(This will be the final one, it will be on hiatus, but should Speed do any truck races in the future it will be back.)

Scott Speed had his heart set on watching friend, mentor, and teammate Johnny Benson battle for the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Championship, but to do it he had to come from the back not once but twice.

Before the race even started, Speed was on pit road getting his transmission changed, scratching his seventh place starting spot in the Ford 200.

So he started in the back, by Lap 40, he was running in 15th place and would get a speeding penalties on his first pit stop and he would again start from the back.

But Speed would not be denied watching JB win the title andby the green-white-checkers on Lap 134. He would be sitting in eighth with JB, in front of him and Ron Hornaday in ninth behind him.

He'd take his time getting started on the restart, holding up Hornaday just a few fractions of a second, and yes the Speed Demon got to watch JB win the title and couldn't be happier for him.

Saying that JB not only was a nice guy, but he really helped Speed out intially when he first started driving the No. 22 truck, so it was really nice to see him win the title.

Hornaday's Corner

Ron Hornaday, Friday night showed why he's a three-time champion and what a class act he is.

Hornaday was 10 laps away, from winning his fourth title, when his crew chief Rick Ren had him pit for four fresh tires and he just couldn't make up the lost track position.

Post race he stayed composed in defeat, he didn't even blame his crew chief and would go congratulate JBdousing him with water, even gave the 23 crew the thumb up.

It's been a great battle between him and JB, both have had off days or maybe mulligans a better word. You can't dwell on it, it is what it is, but it's nice to see the sportsmanship shown.

Even his boss, Kevin Harvick was a class act about it. They'll come back stronger for it and I'm picking Hornaday to win the title in 2009.

"For virtually the entire 2008 NCTS season Benson, Hornaday and their respective crews slugged it out like the heavyweights they are. Only one man could win the title, but both carried themselves like champions." (speed.com)

2009 Camping World Truck Series Schedule

Date                                                               Tracks

Feb. 13                                   Daytona International Speedway

Feb. 21                                   Auto Club Speedway

March 7                                  Atlanta Motor Speedway

March 28                                Martinsville Speedway

April 25                                   Kansas Speedway

May 15                                   Lowe's Motor Speedway    

May 23                                   Mansfield Motorsports Park

May 29                                   Dover International Speedway

June 5                                    Texas Motor Speedway

June 13                                  Michigan International Speedway

June 19                                  The Milwaukee Mile

June 27                                  Memphis Motorsports Park

July 18                                   Kentucky Speedway

July 24                                   O'Reilly Raceway Park

Aug. 1                                    Nashville Super Speedway

Aug. 19                                  Bristol Motor Speedway

Aug. 28                                  Chicagoland Speedway

Sept. 12                                 Gateway International Raceway

Sept. 19                                 New Hampshire Motor Speedway

Sept. 26                                 Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Oct. 24                                  Martinsville Speedway

Oct. 31                                  Talladega Superspeedway

Nov. 6                                    Texas Motor Speedway

Nov. 13                                   Phoenix International Raceway

Nov. 20                                   Homestead-Miami Speedway

New Things For My Update

Rookie J.R. Fitzpatrick will be replacing the Speed Bump, he's running in only 15 race schedule for TRG Motorsports. But may turn into a full-time ride with more Sponsorship and he's working on getting proper approval from NASCAR to run CWTS full-time in 2009.

I'm also going to be working on the track information to add a track fact section and will be for that particular weeks race.

Let me know if you might have some other ideas to add to my Update.

NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Final Point Standings for 2008

1. Johnny Benson                          -3725

2. Ron Hornaday                                -7

3. Todd Bodine                               -104

4. Erik Darnell                                 -313

5. Matt Crafton                              -333

6. Mike Skinner                               -362

7. Rick Crawford                             -410

8. Dennis Setzer                             -528

9. Jack Sprague                              -600

10. Terry Cook                                -653


    NBA Players Who Should Be on the Trade Block

    Featured logo

    NBA Players Who Should Be on the Trade Block

    Kelly Scaletta
    via Bleacher Report

    Ranking the NBA's Top 50 Free Agents

    Featured logo

    Ranking the NBA's Top 50 Free Agents

    Adam Fromal
    via Bleacher Report

    World Cup Power Rankings After Round 2

    Featured logo

    World Cup Power Rankings After Round 2

    Sam Tighe
    via Bleacher Report

    When Athletes Attack (Themselves) 👊

    Featured logo

    When Athletes Attack (Themselves) 👊

    David Gardner
    via Bleacher Report