After Woods and Mickelson Come McIlroy and Bradley: Who's the Next Major?

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
After Woods and Mickelson Come McIlroy and Bradley: Who's the Next Major?
Andrew Redington/Getty Images
Lee Westwood and Rickie Fowler, Ryder Cup 2010

With Tiger Woods seemingly in terminal decline, every golf Major seems to see a new winner. Two of the last three have been one by rising stars—Rory McIlroy and Keegan Bradley. The next could be Rickie Fowler.

In this article we consider future likely winners and one who won't—Lee Westwood.

Why won't Lee Westwood win a major? There are a number of reasons, sadly.

He is 38 and if he hasn't won by now, he never will. It's a young man's game. OK Mark O'Meara was 41 and Darren Clarke 42, but there are other reasons why Lee won't.

He can't putt well enough. He thinks he can and has had putting streaks in the past, but he keeps missing on the right and looks in disbelief after every miss. Why does he need his caddy to give him the lines, unless he can't trust himself.

His confidence has gone. Lee doesn't believe in all that fluffy mind stuff. So when Chubby Chandler is able to persuade him to go and see Dr Bob Rotella, you know he's in trouble.

Worst of all, on the Saturday night of the USPGA he looked close to tears. "I only hit one bad shot today". Sorry Lee, what about all the putts you missed that Jason Dufner sank?

He's one of the best golfers Europe has ever produced but for our first choice we look to a rising US talent.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.