Florida Gators 2011-12 Men's College Basketball Schedule Is a Brutal One

Jim FolsomContributorAugust 7, 2011

NEW ORLEANS, LA - MARCH 26:  Head coach Billy Donovan talks to Patric Young #4 of the Florida Gators during the second half of their game against the Butler Bulldogs in the Southeast regional final of the 2011 NCAA men's basketball tournament at New Orleans Arena on March 26, 2011 in New Orleans, Louisiana.  (Photo by Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images)
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

The 2011-12 men's college basketball schedule is out for the Florida Gators. If they win 20 games again this year, they are a lead pipe lock for the NCAA tournament. This schedule is going to be one of the nation's toughest.

Thanks to GatorZone.com for providing it.

Thu, Nov. 3 Catholic University (Exh.) Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Fri, Nov. 11 Jackson State Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Tue, Nov. 15 Ohio State Columbus, Ohio TBA        
Thu, Nov. 17 North Florida Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Mon, Nov. 21 Wright State Tampa, Fla. TBA        
Fri, Nov. 25 Jacksonville Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Mon, Nov. 28 Stetson Orlando, Fla. TBA        
Fri, Dec. 2 Syracuse Syracuse, N.Y. TBA        
Wed, Dec. 7 Arizona Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Fri, Dec. 9 Rider Jacksonville, Fla. TBA        
Sat, Dec. 17 Texas A&M Sunrise, Fla. TBA        
Mon, Dec. 19 Mississippi Valley State Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Thu, Dec. 22 Florida State Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Thu, Dec. 29 Rutgers Piscataway, N.J. TBA        
Sat, Dec. 31 Yale Gainesville, Fla. TBA        
Tue, Jan. 3 UAB Gainesville, Fla. TBA        

NEW ORLEANS, LA - MARCH 26:  Patric Young #4 of the Florida Gators shoots against the Butler Bulldogs during the Southeast regional final of the 2011 NCAA men's basketball tournament at New Orleans Arena on March 26, 2011 in New Orleans, Louisiana.  (Phot
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

By my count, I see no fewer than six NCAA tournament locks in there. Ohio State and Syracuse will be on the road. Both of those schools will be competing for a very high seed with national title aspirations.

Another school thinking national title will be Arizona, who will be coming to Gainesville. Expect to see Texas A&M, Florida State and UAB in the Big Dance as well. Other teams that could be tough are Jacksonville, who beat Florida a year ago, Rutgers and Rider.

If the Gators can escape this part of the schedule with three or four losses, the RPI should be right up there with the best in the country. Then comes the SEC slate, which will include at least two games with Kentucky (last year there were three), Tennessee, Georgia and Vanderbilt.

By the time the postseason arrives, this Gators team will surely be battle tested. Hopefully, this will result in a high seed, but won't wear them out too much.