Power Ranking Every UFC Welterweight Champion

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Power Ranking Every UFC Welterweight Champion

The welterweight division of the UFC has been occupied by some extremely strong and popular fighters over the years.

We have been entertained by such top-level fighters and personalities as Frank Trigg, John Alessio, Hayato Sakurai and Sean Sherk.

More recently, the division has had one of the deepest talent pools out of any in the business with guys like Josh Koscheck, Jon Fitch, Thiago Alves, Carlos Condit and Jake Shields.

Amazingly, none of these 170-pound stars have ever held the championship, but they have crossed paths in one way or another with the fighters who have.

When the UFC was launched in 1993, there were only two weight classes for all participants, lightweight (200 pounds and under) and heavyweight (over 200 pounds).

But, as the sport grew and became mainstream around 2001, the UFC completely realigned its weight classes based on the model of the New Jersey State Athletic Control Board, and the welterweight division as we know it today was born.

There have been six welterweight champions in the eighteen-year history of the UFC.

Here is my power ranking of all of them. 

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.