The REDS join the Super league Formula one

sam naikContributor IOctober 9, 2008

Superleague Formula has secured one of the biggest names in world sports with Liverpool Football Club – the most successful club in the history of English football – joining the football-themed motor racing championship.

The "Reds" will make their championship debut less than 100 miles away from their Anfield home at the historic Donington Park circuit on August 30/31. Spanish driver
Adrian Valles is the man chosen to represent Liverpoolin Superleague Formula, motor sport's newest competition in which football clubs from around the world go head to head on the track. Okay, so the Kop probably won't incorporate him into their version of La Bamba, but the 22-year-old racing driver is doing as much as anyone to decorate the Anfield trophy room.

Liverpool becomes the 17th club to sign up for the championship and the second Premier League outfit – joining London team Tottenham Hotspur. Local fans at Donington Park will now have three teams to follow covering the UK from top to bottom – Tottenham, Liverpool and Scottish side, Rangers.


Founded in 1892, Liverpool have won more trophies than any other English club including a record 18 League titles, seven FA Cups , a record seven League Cup trophies and 15 Charity Shield wins (5 shared) .

The club has also won more European Cup/Champions League trophies than any other English club (five) and shares the overall record for the most UEFA Cup wins (three).

Two of Liverpool's European wins were against two of its Superleague Formula rivals, AS Roma (1984) and AC Milan (2005).

The Superleague Formula grid will now include teams from the UK (Liverpool and Tottenham Hotspur), Scotland (Rangers), Italy (AC Milan and AS Roma), Spain (Sevilla), Portugal (FC Porto), Netherlands (PSV Eindhoven), Germany (Borussia Dortmund), Belgium (RSC Anderlecht), Switzerland (FC Basel), Greece (Olympiacos), Turkey (Galatasaray), UAE (Al Ain), Brazil (Flamengo and Corinthians) and China (Beijing Guoan).