WWE Spin: The Top 10 Superstars Who Never Captured the WWE Championship

Elliott SaltaresContributor IMarch 23, 2011

WWE.com released a YouTube video announcing their newest countdown.

This month’s countdown, the Top 10 superstars who have never won the WWE Championship.

On their website, the WWE states the following:

"The WWE Championship is widely recognized as the most historic championship in WWE. Dating back to 1963, the WWE Championship was first awarded to Buddy Rogers after he defeated Antonino Rocca in the finals of a tournament in April. Since that time, the biggest names in the business have held the WWE Championship, including Bruno Sammartino, Andre the Giant, Bret Hart, The Rock, Stone Cold and many more." 

We know this will undoubtedly be a self contained analysis pertaining to World Wrestling Entertainment alumni only. There will be a ton of names they miss for various reason as well (Chris Benoit...ahem). But its curious to see who they mention and what order they are placed in.

So without any further ado, here they are:

10. Jerry “The King” Lawler

9. Junkyard Dog

8. Jake “The Snake” Roberts

7. “Ravishing” Rick Rude

6. “Mr. Wonderful” Paul Orndorff

5. Jimmy “Superfly” Snuka

4. Ricky “The Dragon” Steamboat

3. Mr. Perfect

2. “Million Dollar Man” Ted DiBiase

1. “Rowdy” Roddy Piper


Nice production value on the video WWE, but we know why most of these guys never got a chance to wear the strap.

Two words: HULK HOGAN.



Elliott Saltares is a sports pundit, fan, and contributing writer for Bleacher Report. You can follow him on twitter @elliottsaltares.