Renault Sport logoRenault Sport

Singapore Grand Prix: Ferrari Hosed Down

Francois GendronSenior Writer ISeptember 28, 2008

Two separate incidents changed the face of the Singapore Grand Prix today. Fernando Alonso, who took the start from the 15th position, was on a single stop strategy and the combination of the incidents and his strategy paid off for him.

Nelson Piquet Jr. sent his Renault into a wall in the early stages of the race which forced the race officials to send the pace car. While the rest of the pack was still forming, Nico Rosberg and Robert Kubica were forced to stop to get fuel while the pit lane was still closed. Both pilots were penalized with a stop and go.

From the pole position, Felipe Massa was still leading when came the time to enter the pits. A major mistake from Ferrari sent Massa away while the fuel hose was still attached to the car. Massa ripped the hose from the tank and dragged it into the pit lane. The crew members were forced to run the entire length of pit lane to get the hose off Massa's car—a major mistake that will impact his drivers championship race with Lewis Hamilton.

Hamilton led a quiet race and increased his lead to seven points over Felipe Massa with his third place finish. With three races to go, the margin of error for Felipe Massa is virtually nonexistent.

With ten laps to go, the safety car was brought out again and grouped the field for an exciting finish. Fernando Alonso kept his advantage and gave to Renault a much needed victory. Nico Rosberg finished in second place despite a penalty, bringing back Williams to the front of the pack for once.

Kimi Raikkonen completely destroyed Ferrari's weekend with four laps to go when he lost control of his car and hit the wall. A pole and a third place on the grid for the Scuderia ended with zero points at the end of the day. The team also loses its edge over McLaren who takes the lead of the constructors' championship.

Singapore Grand Prix top ten finish:

Winner: Fernando Alonso (Renault)
2-Nico Rosberg (Williams)
3-Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
4-Timo Glock (Toyota)
5-Sebastian Vettel (Toro Rosso)
6-Nick Heidfeld (BMW-Sauber)
7-David Coulthard (Red Bull)
8-Kazuki Nakajima (Williams)
9-Jenson Button (Honda)
10-Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren)

Drivers championship after 15/18 races:

1-Lewis Hamilton 84 points
2-Felipe Massa 77 points
3-Robert Kubica 64 points
4-Kimi Raikkonen 57 points
5-Nick Heidfeld 56 points
6-Heikki Kovalainen 51 points
7-Fernando Alonso 38 points
8-Sebastian Vettel 27 points
9-Jarno Trulli 26 points
10-Mark Webber 20 points
11-Timo Glock 20 points
12-Nico Rosberg 17 points
13-Nelson Piquet Jr 13 points
14-Rubens Barrichello 11 points
15-Kazuki Nakajima 9 points
16-David Coulthard 8 points
17-Sebastien Bourdais 4 points
18-Jenson Button 3 points

Constructors championship:

1-McLaren 135 points
2-Ferrari 134 points
3-BMW-Sauber 117 points
4-Renault 51 points
5-Toyota 46 points
6-Toro Rosso 31 points
7-Red Bull 26 points
8-Williams 25 points
9-Honda 14 points

(Picture: Fernando Alonso, Getty Images.)

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices