Jimmie Johnson and 10 Others Who Will Be in the Mix at the Rolex 24 At Daytona

« Prev
1 of 12
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Jimmie Johnson and 10 Others Who Will Be in the Mix at the Rolex 24 At Daytona
Sam Greenwood/Getty Images

The Rolex Sports Car Series' premier (and premiere) event each season, the Rolex 24 at Daytona, draws some of the top drivers from across the world and across motorsport.

Besides series regulars like Scott Pruett, Alex Gurney, and Max Angelelli, plenty of sports car ringers, be they Porsche factory drivers or simply journeymen looking to get in a car, show up and find rides. IZOD IndyCar Series drivers use the event as a tune-up and a way to get back in a racecar before their Sebring test.

But perhaps most prominently, loads of NASCAR talent shows up. Perhaps owing to the fact that NASCAR and Grand-Am, the Rolex Series' sanctioning body, are both France family properties—or perhaps because the drivers are in Daytona for Preseason Thunder the week before anyway—some of the series' top drivers take the wheel of sports cars for a weekend and try to claim road racing glory.

No NASCAR drivers took the victory last year, when the upstart Action Express team (pictured) scored the win, and none has since 2008, when Juan Montoya won his second in a row for Chip Ganassi. So, will any NASCAR drivers be in the mix this year? You bet. Read on:

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.