Dustin Byfuglien and Tobias Enstrom Are Selected For the 2011 NHL All-Star Team

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Dustin Byfuglien and Tobias Enstrom Are Selected For the 2011 NHL All-Star Team
Jim McIsaac/Getty Images
Byfuglien and Enstrom have been the keys to the Thrashers resurgence this season.

It should come as no surprise to anyone, especially Atlanta Thrashers fans, that Dustin Byfuglien and Tobias Enstrom were selected to the 2011 NHL All-Star squad. The NHL recently published the official roster and the two talented defensemen were on the list.

Both Atlanta players are having exceptional seasons at the halfway point. Byfuglien has consistently led his team in goals and points and Enstrom has upped his game, scoring more goals while setting up players for opportunities with astute passes.

Without a doubt, Byfuglien and Enstrom have helped lead the Thrashers to a winning record and perhaps their first playoff berth in years and only the second one in Thrashers history.

Byfuglien is on track to score 27 goals and nearly 80 points. He also is one of the league leaders in game winning goals.

Enstrom has improved his play offensively and defensively, utilizing smart positional play along with his excellent puck handling skills to engineer consistent offensive opportunities for his defense partner, Byfuglien and his other Atlanta teammates.

Enstrom is also on track for a career high season tracking at 70 points.

Both players have been the linchpin for the team all season and are deserving of their All-Star selections.

Will Dustin Byfuglien win the Norris as the NHLs best defenseman for 2011?

Submit Vote vote to see results


David Backes (St. Louis), Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh), Matt Duchene (Colorado), Patrick Elias (New Jersey), Loui Eriksson (Dallas), Claude Giroux (Philadelphia), Alex Hemsky (Edmonton), Jarome Iginla (Calgary), Patrick Kane (Chicago), Ryan Kesler (Vancouver), Phil Kessel (Toronto), Anze Kopitar (Los Angeles), Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh), Rick Nash (Columbus), Alex Ovechkin (Washington), Corey Perry (Anaheim), Brad Richards (Dallas), Daniel Sedin (Vancouver), Henrik Sedin (Vancouver), Patrick Sharp (Chicago), Martin St.Louis (Tampa Bay), Eric Staal (Carolina), Steven Stamkos (Tampa Bay), Jonathan Toews (Chicago)

Dan Boyle (San Jose), Brent Burns (Minnesota), Dustin Byfuglien (Atlanta), Zdeno Chara (Boston), Tobias Enstrom (Atlanta), Mike Green (Washington), Erik Karlson (Ottawa), Duncan Keith (Chicago), Kris Letang (Pittsburgh), Nick Lidstrom (Detroit), Marc Staal (N.Y.Rangers), Shea Weber (Nashville)

Marc Andre-Fleury (Pittsburgh), Jonas Hiller (Anaheim), Henrik Lundqvist (N.Y. Rangers), Carey Price (Montreal), Tim Thomas (Boston), Cam Ward (Carolina)

Follow B/R on Facebook

Out of Bounds


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.