India Cricket logoIndia Cricket

IPL: Player Auctions, Australian Absences and Pakistani Stalemate

CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA - APRIL 19:  Cheerleaders during the  IPL T20 match between Delhi Daredevils and Kings XI Punjab on April 19, 2009 in Cape Town, South Africa.  (Photo by Tom Shaw/Getty Images)
Tom Shaw/Getty Images
Linus FernandesAnalyst IIDecember 24, 2010

The IPL show moves on.

The IPL player auctions are scheduled for January 8 and 9 in Bangalore.

Over 400 players will go under the hammer.

Each team has a cap of $9 million to be played with.

Only two teams have opted to retain their full complement of four players—Mumbai Indians and Chennai SuperKings. Their kitty is whittled down to $4.5 million.

The cricketers have been classified into six brackets—ranging from $20,000 to $400,000.

Players in the top bracket include:

Adam Gilchrist, Shaun Marsh, Brett Lee, Kevin Pietersen, James Anderson, Graeme Swann, Stuart Broad, Luke Wright, Michael Yardy, TM Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene, Chris Gayle, Brian Lara, Daniel Vettori, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum, Graeme Smith and AB de Villiers.

Brian Lara returns after a hiatus of four years, though he has recently participated in Zimbabwe’s T20 league.

The IPL will miss the services of Mitchell Johnson, Ricky Ponting and Michael Clarke. The left-arm bowler has opted against playing the T20 tournament, as he does not wish to jeopardise his international playing career.

Rest and recuperation is preferred to the high-jinks of an IPL season; Michael Clarke has expressed similar sentiments. Family and national commitments keep the vice-captain away.

Matthew Hayden and Glenn McGrath are other notable Australian omissions.

David Warner is one Australian who views the IPL as an opportunity to showcase his skills:

"The Twenty20 game, I’ve slightly been pigeonholed in some respects, but that’s the game I’m playing at the moment and I’m playing one-day cricket for NSW," Warner said.

"They’re the games I’m playing at the moment and then obviously look forward to getting a start in the four-day stuff, but in the meantime it’s Twenty20 cricket and it’s one-day cricket. That’s all I can keep working towards and scoring runs.”

The stalemate with regards to Pakistani participation continues: The Islamic state’s players were snubbed in the 2010 IPL auction; the PCB has not forwarded any player names to the BCCI this year.

Wasim Akram has laid the blame squarely at the PCB’s doorstep:

"Even if the Indian board had not shown keenness I think our board should have taken the initiative and shown interest in sending our players to the IPL and also sending their names to the Indians. An effort to remove any misunderstandings should have been taken by our board," Akram said.

Sohail Tanvir was the spearhead of the Rajasthan Royals bowling attack in the inaugural 2008 edition. The north Indian team won the tournament against all expectations, despite being the most parsimonious. Shane Warne and Shane Watson are the only two players retained from the original squad.

The BCCI have issued a circular to all 10 IPL teams, asking them to refrain from recruiting uncapped domestic players until the administrative body gives them the go-ahead.

The domestic players come in three flavours:

The lowest tier have a price tag of Rs. 10 lacs (US$21,500) per year, the middle tier, Rs 20 lakhs ($43,000) and the top tier—those who have played at least five seasons of Ranji Trophy—Rs 30 lakhs ($64,500) per year.

The paucity of talent has the franchisees seeking to scout out players and close deals as soon as possible.


Get your facts first, and then you can distort them as much as you please.

Mark Twain

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices