Belgian Grand Prix Spectacular through the End

Francois GendronSenior Writer ISeptember 7, 2008

The rain appeared during the final two laps of the race and gave the fans the most exciting finish of the season today at the Belgium Grand Prix.

Lewis Hamilton had a lot of ground to make up on Kimi Raikkonen after his second and final pit stop. Raikkonen was in control and looked untouchable. But the British driver worked hard and managed to close the gap with only a handful of laps to go.

The rain appeared during the last five laps and complicated the task for the drivers on the track. Conditions deteriorated quickly and the cars, still on slick tires, were slipping all over the place.

The battle between Raikkonen and Hamilton during the final laps was epic. Both cars exchanged the lead multiple times due to the slippery conditions as both slipped and/or spun at every corner.

Kimi Raikkonen finally made a fatal mistake and spun his Ferrari into the wall with two laps left, handing the victory to Hamilton. It was the fifth victory for Hamilton this season.

Felipe Massa also continued on dry tires and finished in second place.

The situation was also very challenging for the rest of the field, as many positions changed during the final portion of the race.

Nick Heidfeld went into the pits to change to rain tires as soon as the rain broke out. The decision was very good for him as he passed six cars after his stop to take the third position at the finish line. This is the first podium for Heidfeld since the British Grand Prix.

Fernando Alonso also chose the rain tires for his Renault and took the fourth place.

The story was different for Sebastien Bourdais who was running in third place just before the finish. However, his Toro Rosso slipped all over the circuit as he lost four positions to finish in seventh place.

The second place of Massa is important as it allows him to keep Lewis Hamilton at a reasonnable distance ahead. Hamilton's lead over Massa has increased to eight points.

Belgium Grand Prix Top 10 Finish

Winner: Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)
2. Felipe Massa (Ferrari) +14.3 seconds
3. Nick Heidfeld (BMW-Sauber) +23.8 seconds
4. Fernando Alonso (Renault) +28.9 seconds
5. Sebastian Vettel (Toro Rosso) +29.0 seconds
6. Robert Kubica (BMW-Sauber) +29.4 seconds
7. Sebastien Bourdais (Toro Rosso) +31.1 seconds
8. Timo Glock (Toyota) +56.5 seconds
9. Mark Webber (Red Bull) +57.2 seconds
10. Heikki Kovalainen (McLaren) +1 lap

**UPDATE** The FIA has penalized Lewis Hamilton 25 seconds for cutting through a turn while battling with Kimi Raikkonen. This penalty sends Hamilton to the third place and his lead over Felipe Massa has been cut to two points.


Drivers Championship after 13/18 Races

1. Lewis Hamilton 76 points
2. Felipe Massa 74 points
3. Robert Kubica 58 points
4. Kimi Raikkonen 57 points
5. Nick Heidfeld 49 points
6. Heikki Kovalainen 43 points
7. Jarno Trulli 26 points
8. Fernando Alonso 23 points
9. Mark Webber 18 points
10. Timo Glock 16 points
11. Nelson Piquet Jr 13 points
12. Sebastian Vettel 13 points
13. Rubens Barrichello 11 points
14. Nico Rosberg nine points
15. Kazuki Nakajima eight points
16. David Coulthard six points
17. Sebastien Bourdais four points
18. Jenson Button three points

Constructors championship

1. Ferrari 129 points
2. McLaren 123 points
3. BMW-Sauber 105 points
4. Toyota 42 points
5. Renault 36 points
6. Red Bull 24 points
7. Williams 17 points
8. Toro Rosso 17 points
9. Honda 14 points