Lana Lawless: Will She Ever Make the LPGA Now That She's Allowed?

« Prev
1 of 13
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Lana Lawless: Will She Ever Make the LPGA Now That She's Allowed?

Lana Lawless has just won her first big LPGA fight. This one was not on the golf course however. It was in the court room of public opinion and her LPGA colleagues were the jury. 

LPGA players have just voted to eliminate the rule requiring players be female at birth. Lana Lawless underwent gender reassignment surgery in 2005. Since that time she has been living as a female. In 2008, she won the women’s world championship in long-drive golf. She then sought to qualify for more prestigious LPGA events. 

But she was halted at the "female at birth" requirement. Lawless threatened to bring a lawsuit and the LPGA acted. The threat of California being nixed from their tour schedule was too much to ignore. So now Lawless is able to compete in LPGA events. But will she?

This is an extremely complex issue filled with variables that could hinder Lana Lawless and her desire to become a female professional golfer. So can we expect her on the tour? 

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories