Bills Finalize Their Roster

Todd Morse@@TheRiddleClassAnalyst IAugust 30, 2008

The Bills made their roster moves to get to the league mandated 53 players today,  releasing 22 players in total.

Players release or waiverd today by position:

FB: Jonathan Evans

RBs: Bruce Hall, Dwayne Wright

WR: Felton Huggins, Scott Mayle

TE: Courtney Anderson. Tim Massaquoi

OLs: Dustin Dickinson, Patrick Estes, Christian Gaddis, Robert Felton, Nevin McCaskill

DL: Derrick Jones, Jason Jefferson, Corey Mace, Teraz McCray

LBs: Jon Banks, Marcus Buggs, Blake Costanzo, Donnie Spragan

DBs: Dustin Fox, Will James

Bubble players who made the team:

QB Gibran Hamdan

RB Xavier Omon (R)

WRs Justin Jenkins & Steve Johnson (R)

OLs Jason Whittle, Duke Preston, Matt Murphy, Demetrius Bell (R)

DL Copeland Bryan

LS Ryan Neill

DB Ashton Youboty, Bryan Scott, John Wendling

Rookie CBs Leodis McKelvin and Reggier Corners strong play, along with Ashton Youboty's re-emergence in the preseason games clearly made the Bills comfortable enough to release the veteran James, who at one point was expected to be the nickel CB. 

The Bills choosing the overmatched Xavier Omon over Bruce Hall, who seemed to fit into the Fred Jackson role very well, or Dwayne Wright, who was playing well enough as a special teams wedge that it appeared he had earned a regular spot on the unit, is also perplexing.  As the saying goes, never look too much into exhibition football. Omon does know how to get into the end zone, but he was not good in his chances.  The Bills must really dislike Wright, as I have mentioned before, to release him this early in his career, as well as appreciate what Omon brings to the team off the field. 

The Bills went heavy on multi-position offensive linemen, as well as kept a stable of offensive tackles.  In the light of the Jason Peters holdout, it makes a lot of sense. 

Time to start the season.