WWE Royal Rumble Winners Countdown: Who Will Win in 2011?

« Prev
1 of 23
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
WWE Royal Rumble Winners Countdown: Who Will Win in 2011?

It's getting close to that time again. After the Survivor Series, there is only one more PPV (TLC) before the Royal Rumble.

The Royal Rumble is known as one of the Big Four, the other three being Wrestlemania, Summerslam, and Survivor Series. The very first Royal Rumble was held on January 24, 1988, at the Copps Coliseum in Hamilton, Ontario, Canada.

Some may not know this, but the Royal Rumble was not originally a PPV event.  Rather, it was shown as a television special on USA. In its second year, the Royal Rumble became a PPV event.

The Royal Rumble consists of 30 superstars.  Two start in the ring, then every couple minutes another superstar enters. The only way a superstar can be eliminated is by being thrown over the top rope and having both feet touch the floor.

The winner is the last person standing in the ring. It wasn't until 1993, however, that the WWE started giving the winner a chance to compete at Wrestlemania for the WWE title. It wasn't until 2004 that superstars were given' the choice to fight for the World Heavyweight Title.

When the ECW World Title was revived in mid-2006, it became a third option for Rumble winners to choose, though I don't know why, as there is no way the main event at Wrestlemania would be for the ECW title.

In this article, I will review the Royal Rumble winners from the very first Rumble in 1988 to the most recent in 2010, giving a little info on each superstar and their win.

At the end, I will also be giving my prediction for the winner of the 2011 Royal Rumble. Hope you enjoy!

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook