New York Yankees logoNew York Yankees

Yankees Chapter of the BBA Announces AL Manager of the Year Selection

Bronx Baseball DailySenior Analyst IOctober 12, 2010

The regular season is over and it is that time for the end of the season awards. Much like the newspapers have the BBWAA that votes on the end of the year awards that everyone makes a big deal about, us bloggers have the Baseball Bloggers Alliance that votes on our own version of the awards.

The BBA is comprised of nearly 300 baseball blogs and will shortly announce the winners, but first the votes must be cast. As chapter president of the Yankees chapter, I have collected and will announce the votes of the Yankees blogs that are members of the BBA. There are 13 eligible Yankee blogs that vote and our final decision counts as two votes in the overall BBA voting for each award.

Here are the eligible Yankees blogs that voted:

The Connie Mack Award is our name for the Manager of the Year award. The award is named after the Hall of Fame manager of the Philadelphia Athletics. Mike Scioscia won the first Manager of the Year award that the BBA gave out last season.

Here is how we voted:

  • First Place: Ron Washington, Texas Rangers – 26 points
  • Second Place: Ron Gardenhire, Minnesota Twins – 24 points
  • Third Place: Terry Francona, Boston Red Sox – 20 points

Also receiving votes were Joe Maddon of the Rays, Joe Girardi of the Yankees (obviously), and Cito Gaston.

Over the next few days and weeks we will make announcements on a few more awards: The Willie Mays Award (Manager of the Year), the Goose Gossage Award (Top Reliever), the Walter Johnson Award (Top Pitcher), and the Stan Musial Award (Top Hitter).

Related Stories

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices