Anaheim Announces Ryan Getzlaf as New Captain, Koivu and Selanne as Alternates

Liz BrownsteinContributor IOctober 5, 2010

Ryan Getzlaf's previous "A" will turn to a "C" this season as he leads as the new Captain.
Ryan Getzlaf's previous "A" will turn to a "C" this season as he leads as the new Captain.Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

As of Sunday night, Anaheim announced that first-line center Ryan Getzlaf will now lead the team as captain, with help from both Saku Koivu and Teemu Selanne as alternates.

It was recently up in the air with who will be wearing the "C," with the main candidates Ryan Getzlaf and veteran Saku Koivu. Many people, myself included, expected experience to land the "C" on Saku Koivu's jersey, with Getzlaf learning and growing under a new captain. 

Getz has only played under one captain, Scott Niedermayer, even in the Winter Olympics, while Saku led the Canadiens for a decade. In my opinion, Getz could have matured more by playing another season with the A on his chest and learning a second leading style from Koivu.

In short, I'm not sure if I agree with this choice, but it was broadcasted that the coaches let the players vote on captains and alternates for this year. 

One piece of me sees this decision as a look to the future, a new era that's been opened after the closing of the Scotty Nieds era. But there is a piece of me that sees Getzlaf get angry, and he can't cool down after a bad call very easily. 

Captains have to be level-headed. It's what made Niedermayer so perfect for the job.

Don't get me wrong; I love Getzlaf. He's the best player on our roster, and he's still growing and maturing.

I just think that he could have used another year watching a new captain, like Koivu. 

There's one piece of the announcement no Anaheim fan can help but smile at, and it's that Selanne has returned with a letter on his chest! Teemu has sported an A for 6.5 seasons, with his half season split between the "A" and the "C" in the '97-'98 season when Kariya (the captain then) was plagued with injuries.

So, the youngest of the three leaders is rocking the "C" for the year, but your Anaheim Ducks will be led by Ryan Getzlaf, Teemu Selanne, and Saku Koivu, the first year since the 2000-2001 season that all of the leaders are forwards.