Philadelphia Eagles Finalize Plans to Honor 1960 NFL Championship

Phil AndrewsCorrespondent IMay 3, 2010

Philadelphia Eagles owner Jeffrey Lurie today announced that the Eagles will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the 1960 NFL championship team during their home opener on Sept. 12, 2010 against the Green Bay Packers.

The festivities will include a number of different commemorative events to celebrate the rich history of the franchise.

The announcement, held at the site of the game, Franklin Field, was made by Lurie along with Eagles president Joe Banner and Eagles 1960 alum Pete Retzlaff, who joined the voice of the Eagles, Merrill Reese, and 1960 the voice of the Eagles, Bill Campbell, in remembering the game.

The event was also highlighted by appearances from Eagles 1960 alumni Tommy McDonald, Chuck Bednarik, Dick Lucas, Riley Gunnels, and Maxie Baughan, as well as current Eagles tight end Brent Celek, wide receiver DeSean Jackson, linebacker Stewart Bradley, and Eagles head coach Andy Reid.

“We are excited to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the 1960 team. This celebration marks a very important event in Philadelphia Eagles history. In the past few months, we have had the pleasure of working with an advisory committee of volunteers, many who actually attended the game at Franklin Field 50 years ago,” said Lurie.

He added, “This milestone in Eagles history will be commemorated with the authentic kelly green uniforms from 1960, as well as a number of different events planned to make sure this extraordinary group of men are lauded for their efforts. Remembering this accomplishment and these players is important not only for the team, but for our fans whose passion for the Philadelphia Eagles spans many generations.”

After losing the season opener against Cleveland, the 1960 Eagles rattled off nine straight wins, tying the longest streak in team history and securing their fourth Eastern Division title. 

On Dec. 26, 1960, Hall of Famers Norm Van Brocklin, Tommy McDonald, and Chuck Bednarik led the Eagles to their third NFL championship after mounting a come-from-behind, 17-13 victory over Green Bay at Franklin Field. This victory handed Vince Lombardi’s Packers their only playoff loss under his tenure. 

NOTE: Jeff Lurie quotes courtesy of Philadelphia Eagles Communications.