Stay On Track: Licensed To Blog

Andy BernsteinCorrespondent IApril 23, 2010

CUPERTINO, CA - AUGUST 7: Apple CEO Steve Jobs shows off the new wireless keyboard as he introduces new versions of the iMac and iLife applications August 7, 2007 in Cupertino, California. The all-in-one desktop computers now have a slimmer design in aluminum casings with faster chips and glossy screens and is up to $300 cheaper then their predecessors. (Photo by David Paul Morris/Getty Images)
David Paul Morris/Getty Images

Brave new world, ain't it?

The only thing it takes to be a blogger in this world is a little voice and a big keyboard. Even a small one will get the job done. Everybody can do it. So too many people do.

That leaves a lot of personal choice to the reader, and some important ones to this writer. I'm not going to bore you with long entries. I'm not going to rehash the news that you already know, or fan flames of public debate on some "hot button" issue because you need another emperical viewpoint to consider.

My free blogsite came with a free comment section too. If you choose to use it, you will receive a response. Face to face.

That's about all the rules I need, along with the steadfast intention of this blog: fixing stuff. So we'll Stay On Track.  

Here's an imaginary radio spot to air on ESPN Radio:


Date: Thu, 5 Nov 2009 12:18:44 -0500

Hi, I'm Al Unser Jr... 
Two-time Indy 500 winner and a proud member of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame.
The Izod IndyCar Series wants to take a page from the NFL Playbook and invite fans to select the next member of our Hall of Fame, to be inducted during the 100th celebration of the Greatest Spectacle in Racing...The Indianapolis 500.
We'll be inviting some of you to join is for the ceremony and all the excitement of the Indy 500 on May 24, 2010. And we invite everyone to take part in the selection of our ___ th member, to join the honor roll posted on our website.
When you know the history, you know what Indy means. We'd like you to join us in writing the next chapter.

The following are Indy 500 winners eligible for the Hall of Fame as of 2008, not yet among the current inductees:

Rene Thomas             Graham Hill                  Bobby Rahal (driver and owner)

Billy Arnold                 Louis Schneider           Arie Luyendyk (two-time winner)

George Souders          Kelly Petillo                 Eddie Cheever Jr. (driver and owner)

L.L. Corum                 George Robson            Pat Patrick (owner, 2 wins)            

Floyd Davis                Danny Sullivan            Chip Ganassi (owner, 3 wins)


That's a pretty cool list, and I didn't even know there was an Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame. A lot of background to learn about some of those guys, and video clips that might catch the attention of new fans, too.

This idea is not completely original: I heard the Phillips-Van Heusen radio spot on ESPN Radio last year, for their Pro Football Hall of Fame Campaign. That was a $10M spend, and attracted more than 1 million votes to their website...even Mark Wahlberg stopped by.

That's where I'd put the links to Izod, the IndyCar website, and the YouTube clips of the nominees in action for all the football fans to check out. Sweepstakes entry for the invitation, too.

The PVH site is still up but it's a little stale now. The IndyCar Hall of Fame program would still work, but it would take more time to catch fire than it would have last November. Another media perk for the existing IndyCar fans fixes nothing.

It's not like the memo didn't get sent. But people choose to read what they want to read, right?

Link to previous "Stay On Track" entries: