Lundqvist, Drury, and Callahan Take Home Rangers' Team Awards

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Lundqvist, Drury, and Callahan Take Home Rangers' Team Awards
Chris McGrath/Getty Images

The Rangers announced their 2009-10 team awards last night. The awards are voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

Here are the awards:

Team MVP

  • Winner: Henrik Lundqvist

Players’ Player Award

  • Winner: Chris Drury
  • The award is given out to the player who “best exemplifies what it means to be a teammate.

The John Halligan Good Guy Award

  • Winners: Erik Christensen and Vinny Prospal
  • This award is voted on by the Rangers’ media.
  • It recognizes players’ cooperation with the media. Or whoever gives the best interviews.

The Steven McDonald Extra Effort Award

  • Winner: Ryan Callahan
  • This award is voted on by the fans.
  • It recognizes a player who “performs above and beyond the call of duty.”

Thoughts: These awards are all pretty straightforward and expected. I think the only one that wouldn’t have been an easy guess is the John Halligan award. Although I think we all knew that Sean Avery or head coach John Tortorella wouldn’t have gotten this one.

These have been some of the good guys on a team that, until recently, often lacked visible heart. I think only Brandon Dubinsky and Marc Staal are missing some recognition. Although both will have long careers and I’m sure they’ll be honored plenty during that career.

Here is a link to the press release .

Related Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.