Big Ten Tournament: Armchair Superstar's All-Tourney Team and Awards

Mark FodorCorrespondent IMarch 14, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS - MARCH 12:  Guard Devoe Joseph #5 and Ralph Sampson III #50 of the Minnesota Golden Gophers react after defeating the Michigan State Spartans 72-67 in overtime of the quarterfinals in the Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament at Conseco Fieldhouse on March 12, 2010 in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images)
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

It was a great weekend in Indianapolis.  We were sorry that the weather didn't cooperate for tailgating purposes, but several awesome games and huge shots, as well as over achievement from Minnesota and Illinois, made for a tournament well worth the price of admission. 

And (full disclosure) I'm an Indiana fan.  Following are my unofficial all-tourney teams and awards.



G: Devoe Joseph, Minnesota—Biggest Surprise

G: Demetri McCamey, Illinois—Best Leadership

G: Evan Turner, Ohio State Most Valuable Player

F: JaJuan Johnson, Purdue—The Go-To Guy

F: Colton Iverson, Minnesota—Overachiever


G: William Buford, Ohio State—Quietest Stat Stuffer

G: Manny Harris, Michigan—Toe-to-Toe with Turner  

G: David Lighty, Ohio State—Glue Guy

F: Damian Johnson, Minnesota—Defensive Playmaker

F: Mike Tisdale, Illinois—Looks Like Bat Boy


F: John Shurna, Northwestern—Looks like a Manager, Plays like a Pro

F: Mike Davis, Illinois—Clutch Rebounder

G: Chris Kramer, Purdue—Mr. Toughness

G: Kalin Lucas, Michigan State—The Little Big Man  

G: Cully Payne, Iowa—The Diaper Dandy

Some of the other guys I considered included Ralph Sampson III, E'Twaun Moore, Jon Diebler, Lawrence Westbrook (on defense), and the guy that won the Dickie V impression contest at the half. Oh, and the trampoline artists, too.