"WAYAMBA" Clinches T20 Title Yet Again!

jeevan hettigodaContributor IMarch 9, 2010

"Wayamba" the north central province lads of Sri lanka managed to clinch the T20 title yet again beating opponenets ruhuna in the recently concluded inter provincial T20 tornament.

Wayamba were unbeaten in the tournament as they managed to totally outclass teams such as Kandurata which was led by lankan skipper Kumar sangakkara.wayamba's succes was totally due to their team effort and each and every player played their part in the journey towards succes.

The much talked about final got underway at the De zoyza stadium moratuwa.The crowds gathered in numbers to witness their local heroes.Wayamba skipper Jehan Mubarak won the toss and elected to bat first in a wicket which favoured batting.Wayamba openers Mahela jayawardena and Jeevantha kulathunga managed to capitalize on Ruhuna's weak bowling display and started making runs at their will.

Mahela was exquisite in his strokeplay and managed to make 91 just out of 49 balls which included 10 fours & 6 sixes.Captain Mubarak,Jeevantha kulatunga and keeper Kusal perera managed to provide ample support to mahela which eventually resulted Wayamba passing the score of 200.Wayamba manged to pile a mamoth 208 while Sachitra senanayake was the pick of ruhuna bowlers as he managed 3 wickets for 25 in his quota of 4 overs.

Though it was a mamoth target ruhuna was a more than capable and experienced side which included heavyweigts sucha as Sanath jayasuria and Upul tharanga and the 2 most talented youth batsmen Dinesh chandimal and Ashan priyanjana.

Ruhuna started positively but Isuru udana's unorthodox action caused problems to the Ruhuna openers as he managed to clean up the top order in no time.Despite the loss of early wickets youngster Chandiaml displayed tremendous maturity and went on punishing the bowlers with free flowing strokes.As the runs were mounting Mubarak introduced Ajantha mendis  who rattled the rest of the batsman making chandimal the lone fighter.Despite all that Chandimal continiued  attacking but ran out of partners as Ruhuna were all out for a score of 113 handing Wayamba the title for the 2nd consecutive year.

Wayamba led by Mubarak will be keeping a close eye on the upcoming Champions League and will remain to be a formiddable outfit this year.