2010 Big Ten Wrestling Tournament Championships

Jacob SchlottkeContributor IIMarch 7, 2010

MIAMI GARDENS, FL - JANUARY 05:  A detail of a Iowa Hawkeyes logo is seen on a canopy of a tailgating tent prior to the Iowa Hawkeyes playing against the Georiga Tech Yellow Jackets during the FedEx Orange Bowl at Land Shark Stadium on January 5, 2010 in Miami Gardens, Florida.  (Photo by Streeter Lecka/Getty Images)
Streeter Lecka/Getty Images

TheWrestlingTalk.com 's Stephen Hammersley runs down the 2011 Big Ten Wrestling Tournament Finals.

The 2010 Big Ten Wrestling Finals are ready to roll today with the Iowa Hawkeyes, led by Head Coach Tom Brands and elite 149-pounder Brent Metcalf, well on their way to another Big Ten Wrestling title.

This event features the best of the midwest and many future MMA stars. 

Four-time NCAA Wrestling Champion Cael Sanderson had a good thing going heading into the Semi-Finals yesterday.  However, his squad dropped six of seven matches to advance just one Nittany Lion to the Big Ten Finals.

At 125, Iowa's Freshman Phenom, Matt McDonough, has a shot to pick up the No. 1 seed with a win over defending NCAA Champ, Indiana's Angel Escobedo.

133 pits Minnesota star Jayson Ness against another well rounded Hawkeye.  We'd give the edge to Ness in this one nine times out of 10.

Reece Humphrey seems to be a shoe in for the the Big Ten title.  However, Thorn's big move capabilities make him a threat against just about anyone.

Probably the most lopsided of today's event is the 149 pound matchup between Iowa monster Brent Metcalf verses Ohio State's Lance Palmer.  Palmer is not a push over by any means. Metcalf is just one tough beast.

With Minnesota's Dustin Schlatter out of the lineup at 157 (don't ask me how a guy that doesn't compete in a qualifier can qualify, but it can happen...), the No. 1 seed went to Colton Salazar, who will compete with No. 2 Cyler Sanderson, Cael's younger brother.

Andrew Howe should lock down 165 without much of a problem.


125 pounds
No. 1 Angel Escobedo (Indiana) vs. No. 2 Matt McDonough (Iowa)

133 Pounds
No. 1 Jayson Ness (Minnesota) vs. No. 2 Daniel Dennis (Iowa)

141 Pounds
No. 1 Reece Humphrey (Ohio State) vs. No. 2 Mike Thorn (Minnesota)

149 Pounds
No. 1 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) vs. No. 2 Lance Palmer (Ohio State)

157 Pounds
No. 1 Colton Salazar (Purdue) vs. No. 2 Cyler Sanderson (Penn State)

165 Pounds
No. 1 Andrew Howe (Wisconsin) vs. No. 3 Colt Sponseller (Ohio State)

174 Pounds
No. 1 Jay Borschel (Iowa) vs. No. 3 Scott Glasser (Minnesota)

184 Pounds
No. 1 John Dergo (Illinois) vs. No. 3 Phil Keddy (Iowa)

197 Pounds
No. 5 Sonny Yohn (Minnesota) vs. No. 2 Trevor Brandvold (Wisconsin)

285 Pounds
No. 1 Nathan Everhart (Indiana) vs. No. 2 Dan Erekson (Iowa)