FIA Finally Release Full 2010 Entry List

Rhys WilliamsContributor IMarch 4, 2010

ISTANBUL, TURKEY - AUGUST 25:  A view of the Federation International De L'Automobile logo on the official FIA motorhome in the paddock after Qualifying for the F1 Grand Prix of Turkey at Istanbul Park on August 25, 2007, in Istanbul, Turkey.  (Photo by Clive Rose/Getty Images)
Clive Rose/Getty Images

The FIA have released the final and full Formula 1 entry list for the 2010, with some noticeable changes from the previous version.

As expected US F1 are not able to enter a team this season and are omitted from the list. The FIA have also confirmed that they will not be offering the vacant slot to Serbian outfit Stefan GP. The FIA stated:

"Having considered the various options, the FIA confirms that it is not possible for a replacement team to be entered for the Championship at this late stage."

"In the coming days the FIA will announce details of a new selection process to identify candidates to fill any vacancies existing at the start of the 2011 season."

It is now likely that the Campos team will make the first race, but under a different guise. They will now be officially known as HRT F1 (Hispania Racing Team) after Adrian Campos recently sold his stake in the team to Jose Ramon Carabante.

However, the Sauber team have retained the official name BMW Sauber. The reason for this has been cited as the FIA naming regulations. Yet the Campos team seemed to have little problem changing, neither did Mercedes.

This gives us the rather odd prospect of having a BMW car powered by a Ferrari engine. One has to wonder what the boys at Munich will make of that.

The only thing to be confirmed over the coming week is the identity of the second HRT driver. Speculation is that GP2 driver Karun Chandhok has already bagged this role, making him only the second Indian F1 driver ever, but we will have to wait to see for certain.

The full 2010 Formula 1 entry list: