Pro Football Hall of Fame Class Of 2010 Announced

James WilliamsonSenior Writer IFebruary 6, 2010

FORT LAUDERDALE, FL - FEBRUARY 06:  Emmitt Smith (R) is congratulated by former teammate Michael Irvin after Smith was announced as one of the newest enhrinees into the Hall of Fame during the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2010 Press Conference held at the Greater Ft. Lauderdale/Broward County Convention Center as part of media week for Super Bowl XLIV on February 6, 2010 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

After months of waiting, the news of who will be honored this following August as one of the greatest players of all time in the history of professional football is here.

There were 17 finalists—15 from the modern era, two from the Senior Committee, which is meant to find players whose careers ended over 25 years ago and see if they have been wrongfully overlooked.

A minimum of four and a maximum of seven are inducted each year. This year... fans got lucky because seven men have been announced as members of the Professional Football Hall of Fame.

The 17 finalist were, according to the list from the official website of the Hall of Fame are:

Tim Brown – Wide Receiver/Kick Returner – 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Cris Carter – Wide Receiver – 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins

Don Coryell – Coach – 1973-77 St. Louis Cardinals, 1978-1986 San Diego Chargers

Roger Craig – Running Back – 1983-1990 San Francisco 49ers, 1991 Los Angeles Raiders, 1992-93 Minnesota Vikings

Dermontti Dawson – Center – 1988-2000 Pittsburgh Steelers

Richard Dent – Defensive End – 1983-1993, 1995 Chicago Bears, 1994 San Francisco 49ers, 1996 Indianapolis Colts, 1997 Philadelphia Eagles

Russ Grimm – Guard – 1981-1991 Washington Redskins

Charles Haley – Defensive End/Linebacker – 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys

Rickey Jackson – Linebacker – 1981-1993 New Orleans Saints, 1994-95 San Francisco 49ers

Cortez Kennedy – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Seattle Seahawks

Dick LeBeau* – Cornerback – 1959-1972 Detroit Lions

Floyd Little* – Running Back – 1967-1975 Denver Broncos

John Randle – Defensive Tackle – 1990-2000 Minnesota Vikings, 2001-03 Seattle Seahawks

Andre Reed – Wide Receiver – 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins

Jerry Rice – Wide Receiver – 1985-2000 San Francisco 49ers, 2001-04 Oakland Raiders, 2004 Seattle Seahawks

Shannon Sharpe – Tight End – 1990-99, 2002-03 Denver Broncos, 2000-01 Baltimore Ravens

Emmitt Smith – Running Back – 1990-2002 Dallas Cowboys, 2003-04 Arizona Cardinals

Out of those selected 17, only seven were chosen. The following are:

Russ Grimm : A member of the famous offensive line of the Redskins known as the "Hogs."

Rickey Jackson : One of the most versatile linebackers to ever play the game. Has 1,173 solo tackles, 128 sacks, 40 forced fumbles, 29 fumble recoveries, and 8 interceptions. Linebacker of the famous 'Dome Patrol' linebacking corp and first longterm Saint to be inducted into the Hall of Fame

Dick LeBeau : Great Lions cornerback who is tied for 8th in all-time interceptions with 62 and later defensive coordinator for Pittsburgh Steelers. Especially known for inventing the defensive scheme known as the "Zone Blitz."

Floyd Little : First popular player of the Denver Broncos. In fact, it is said that his popularity may have very well kept the franchise from folding. A powerful running back with 6,323 yards rushing with 43 touchdowns and 2,418 yards receiving with nine touchdowns. 

John Randle : The all-time leader among defensive tackles in sacks with 137.5 and 471 credited solo tackles. Especially known for his charismatic personality and for being nearly impossible to block.

Jerry Rice : The all-time leading receiver in receptions (1,549), yards (22,895), and touchdowns (197). The greatest receiver of all-time in my mind. No question about it.  

Emmitt Smith : Last, but certainly not least by any stretch of the word, is the all-time leading rusher in attempts (4,409), yards (18,355), and touchdowns (164).

There is your class of 2010, ladies and gentlemen.

Here's to seven great men.