Manny Pacquiao Voted Fighter of the Decade

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Manny Pacquiao Voted Fighter of the Decade
Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The Boxing Writers Association of America has named Manny Pacquiao "fighter of the decade." 

On Sunday, Jan. 31, the BWAA selected Pacquiao from a group of nominees that included Bernard Hopkins, Floyd Mayweather, Shane Mosley, Juan Manuel Marquez, Joe Calzaghe, and Marco Antonio Barrera.

From 2000 through 2009, Pacquiao went 24-1-2 and won six world championships. 

The BWAA also named Pacquiao "fighter of the year" for 2009 for his dominating wins over Ricky Hatton and Miguel Cotto, in which he picked up junior welterweight and welterweight world titles.

Freddie Roach was voted the 2009 "trainer of the year", the fourth time Roach has received the honor.

Juan Manuel Marquez vs. Juan Diaz was voted "fight of the year" for their Feb. 28 bout in which Marquez prevailed by ninth-round TKO.

Joe Tessitore of ESPN2's Friday Night Fights won the Sam Taub award for excellence in broadcast journalism.

Hall of Fame fighter Alexis Arguello was posthumously voted to receive the Marvin Kohn good guy award.

The Bill Crawford award for overcoming adversity was given to both Showtime boxing announcer Nick Charles and former heavyweight George Chuvalo.

Charles is currently battling cancer of the bladder. Chuvalo has had two sons die of drug overdoses and had a third son, along with his wife, commit suicide.

The BWAA will present the awards at their 85th annual banquet on June 11 in New York.

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.