NASCAR: Lennox 301 The Race That Went The Extra Mile Came Up Short Due To Rain

Toby ChristieSenior Analyst IJune 29, 2008

The Lennox 301, which was advertised as the race that went the extra mile, ended up ironically getting called 15 miles early due to rain.  Pit strategy which is becoming a over used term that seems to dictate the winner each week, reared its head again this week.  When the rain began to fall with 17 laps to go Sunday the Top5 were as follows:

1. Kurt Busch (snapped a win-less streak dating back to August of 2007).

2. Michael Waltrip (First Top5 of the season).

3. J.J. Yeley (Some almost forgot Yeley was even still in the series).

4. Martin Truex Jr. (Faded after being strong early, but pitted at the right time to be there at the end).

5. Elliott Sadler (First Top5 this season, breaking a long string of bad luck).

This unpredictable cast of characters got that shot in the arm they so desperately needed Sunday, that may possibly resurrect their season, but where were the usual suspects? 

Kyle Busch ran mediocre all day, but seemed poised to finish Top15 until a feud boiled between Busch and Montoya under a caution flag.  Montoya would spin Kyle out sending the point leader to a 24th place finish.

Jeff Burton ran around the Top10 all day long, but because the top eight cars stayed out on the final pit stop Burton was mired back in 12th where he finished.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. had a strong car early, and ran Top10 for most of the day until heading to a green flag pit stop towards the end of the race, was ran over by the 26 car of Jamie McMurray, who just for one reason or another did not see Earnhardt. Earnhardt would limp around to finish 23rd.

Tony Stewart led the most laps during the race, but got caught behind after the last pit stop and was relegated to a 13th place finish, Stewart was visibly upset after the race.


Other Notable finishes:

Reed Sorenson finishes 6th just what he needed.

Casey Mears who is searching for a ride in 2009 gets his second straight Top10 with a 7th place finish.

Denny Hamlin, last years winner of this race ends up 8th.

Jimmie Johnson threatened to win for a while, but settled for 9th.

Bobby Labonte, started second, and got an impressive 10th place finish.

Jeff Gordon still win-less in 2008, but showed signs of improvement this race even though his 11th place finish doesn't quite show it.