Racing Roundup: Massa, Wheldon, and Busch Win Big; NHRA Loses

Adam AmickSenior Writer IJune 22, 2008

Friday night the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series took to the flat oval known as the Milwaukee Mile for the Camping World RV Sales 200. Johnny Benson started on the pole, was out front when a red flag was thrown for lightning in the area, led the most laps, and took the win. Matt Crafton was second, Landon Cassill, with a good run, placed third. Benson is the NCTS points leader by 50 markers over Todd Bodine. 

The NASCAR Nationwide Series ran at Milwaukee Saturday evening with the Camping World RV Rental 250. Brad Keselowski started on the pole in the JR. Motorsports U.S. Navy Chevy. Brad led the most laps, but settled for eighth. Carl Edwards would win his first NNS race in over a year. Rookie Joey Logano was second, and points leader Clint Bowyer placed third. 

The Rolex Grand Am Series ran the Emco Gears Classic in heavy rain at Mid-Ohio. Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney swam to the win in the Bob Stallings/Gainsco Insurance Pontiac Daytona Prototype. Eric Lux and Leh Keen win in GT class in the Farnbacher Loles Porsche GT3. 

Tragedy struck the NHRA world Saturday when Scott Kalitta’s funny car erupted in flame as the nitro system exploded during a qualifying run at Englishtown, N.J. The car ran off the end of the course and Kalitta died of injuries from the crash. He is survived by his wife and two sons.

With heavy hearts, the racers continued the Lucas Oil Supernationals on Sunday. Tony Schumacher took honors in Top Fuel, Tim Wilkerson won funny car, Greg Anderson won pro stock, and Chip Ellis got the trophy in Pro Stock Motorcycle. 

Formula One was at Magny-Cours for the Grand Prix of France on Sunday. Ferrari started one-two and would finish one-two, though Felipe Massa would pass polesitter Kimi Raikkonen when the latter’s car had an exhaust part fall off. Toyota’s Jarno Trulli finished third, holding off a late charge from McLaren’s Heikki Kovalainen. Last week’s winner, Robert Kubica, was fifth, while Lewis Hamilton was 10th, after starting 13th. 

The Indycar Series raced in front of a standing-room only crowd at the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway. Dan Wheldon would celebrate his 30th birthday in victory lane after holding off Andretti-Green teammates Hideki Mutoh and Marco Andretti. It was rookie Mutoh’s best finish, and Wheldon donated his winnings to storm and flood victims. Scott Dixon has a 48-point lead over Helio Castroneves. 

Finally, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series was at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Calif., for the Toyota/Save Mart 350. Kasey Kahne started on the pole but would fade quickly. Kyle Busch scored his first cup win on a road course. David Gilliland had his best career finish in second, and Jeff Gordon drove to third. Clint Bowyer was fourth, and Casey Mears came home fifth. Last year’s winner Juan Pablo Montoya was sixth. Ryan Newman, Matt Kenseth, Carl Edwards, and Tony Stewart rounded out the top 10.

Busch pads his points lead over Jeff Burton and Dale Earnhardt, Jr., while Kevin Harvick slips two points out of the top 12, behind the surging Kenseth.