Attention Saints Fans: Cast Your Votes For The Saints All-Decade Team

Paul Augustin, Jr.Senior Analyst IDecember 23, 2009

DENVER - SEPTEMBER 21:  Running back Deuce McAllister #26 of the New Orleans Saints leaves the field following warm up prior to facing the Denver Broncos during NFL action at Invesco Field at Mile High on September 21, 2008 in Denver, Colorado. The Broncos defeated the Saints 34-32.  (Photo by Doug Pensinger/Getty Images)
Doug Pensinger/Getty Images

The 2000s was the most successful decade in New Orleans Saints' history. They won their first playoff game ever (12/30/2000, vs. the St. Louis Rams), and took home three division titles—2000, 2006, and 2009.

A team forever known for its offensive ineptitude showed an offensive burst in the early part of the decade, and all-time greatness since 2006.

Several all-time great Saints have passed through this organization over the past 10 years. This decade features several players who are either in the New Orleans Saints Hall of Fame—Willie Roaf and Joe Johnson—or are future members—Drew Brees, Deuce McAllister, Joe Horn, and more.

Below are my nominees for the New Orleans Saints' all-decade team. Please vote and add any additional nominees by commenting to this article, or by leaving a message in my inbox.

Bleacher Report's New Orleans Saints' all-decade will be announced on December 30.

The number of players at the listed position who will be on the all-decade team is in parentheses.

QB (1): Drew Brees, Aaron Brooks (the only two quarterbacks to start for a full season in the 2000s)

RB (1): Deuce McAllister, Reggie Bush, Pierre Thomas

FB (1): Terrelle Smith, Mike Karney

WR (2): Joe Horn, Willie Jackson, Marques Colston, Devery Henderson

T (2): Willie Roaf, Jammal Brown, Kyle Turley, Jon Stinchcomb

G (2): Montre Holland, Jahri Evans, Cark Nicks, Jamar Nesbit

C (1): Jeff Faine, LeCharles Bentley, Jonnathan Goodwin

TE (1): Mark Campbell, Billy Miller, Cam Cleeland, Jeremy Shockey

DE (2): Will Smith, Darren Howard, Joe Johnson

DT (2): La'Roi Glover, Normand Hand, Grady Jackson, Kendrick Clancy

LB (3): Mark Fields, Keith Mitchell, Darren Smith, Jonathan Vilma, Scott Shanle, Scott Fujita, James Allen

CB (2): Mike McKenzie, Fred Weary, Jason Craft

S (2): Sammy Knight, Jay Bellamy, Roman Harper

Returner (1): Michael Lewis

Punter (1): Toby Gowin, Steve Weatherford

Place Kicker (1): John Carney, Doug Brien

Special Teamer (1): Steve Gleason, Fred McAfee

Coach (1): Jim Haslett, Sean Payton