Anthony Calvillo: Montreal QB Wins Another CFL MVP Award

Chris AllenSenior Analyst INovember 30, 2009

For the second year in a row, Anthony Calvillo, QB for the Montreal Alouettes, was awarded the CFL's Most Outstanding Player Award at the CFL Players Awards on November 26th. Calvillo received 44 first place votes of the 55 possible votes.

“You never get tired of being at these games, and you never get tired winning,” said Alouettes quarterback Calvillo. “As I was walking over here, I was kind of just blown away at where I am right now in my career, to see myself hold another trophy. It just blows me away.
Calvillo had a great season, passing for 4,639 yards with 26 touchdowns and only 6 interceptions, while leading his Montreal Alouettes to a 15-3 record, their best in franchise history. He was also voted onto the CFL All-Star team for the 4th time in his career.
This seasons Most Outstanding Canadian was the B.C. Lions' DE Rick Foley, who finished the year with 12 sacks and 51 tackles.
The Most Outstanding Defensive Player this season was John Chick, DE for the Saskatchewan Roughriders. Chick had an outstanding season in which he accumulated 11 sacks, the second most in the CFL this season, as well as 4 forced fumbles and 32 tackles. Chick was also named a 2009 CFL All-Star.
The Alouettes OG Scott Flory received the honours of the CFL's Most Outstanding Lineman. Flory was the anchor of a dominant offensive line and received his second Most Outstanding Lineman in a row. He was also named a CFL All-Star for the 7th time in his career.
KR Larry Taylor, another Alouettes player, received the Most Outstanding Special Teams Player award. Taylor finished this season in outstanding fashion, with 788 punt return yards, which was first in the league. He also accumulated 1,059 kickoff return yards (5th) and 124 missed field goal yards (2nd). Taylor has three kick return touchdowns and was also named a CFL All—Star.
This season's Most Outstanding Rookie was Martell Mallett, RB for the B.C. Lions. Mallett finished the season with 1,240 rushing yards and 6 TD's. Mallett was also named a West Division All—Star.
The Tom Pate Memorial Award is awarded to a CFL player who makes a significant contribution not only to his team, but also the organization and his surrounding community. This years recipient of the award was Marwan Hage, C for the Hamilton Tiger—Cats.
The final award of the night was the Commissioner's Award, which is presented annually to someone who has made a tremendous contribution to the Canadian Football League. This year the award went to B.C. Lions Head Coach and General Manager Wally Buono, who not only set a new record for most wins by a head coach this season, but has also been involved with the CFL as a player, coach and GM for four decades.
The CFL Player Awards take place every year on Grey Cup Weekend.