Battle for Ben Scwartzwalder Trophy Resumes At Noon

Ryan MaloneyContributor IIOctober 10, 2009

The football programs from Syracuse and West Virginia Universities will meet for the 57th time today at high noon.  The Orange lead the all-time series 30-26 but are in the midst of their longest drought against the Mountaineers.

Syracuse last beat the pride of Morgantown in 2001.  Since then, West Virginia has outscored Paul Pasqualoni and Greg Robinson-coached teams 223-80 while racking up seven consecutive victories.  The Mountaineers even beat Syracuse in the Carrier Dome to start the Robison era in front of a national audience in 2005.

Kickoff is scheduled for noon.  For the past 16 seasons, the Ben Schwartzwalder Trophy, named after former WVU football player and longtime Syracuse coach, has been awarded to the winner of this game. 

It was sculpted in 1993 by former Orange player Jim Ridlon after Schwartzwalder's death in March of that year.  Syracuse has gone home with the Schwartzwalder trophy just six times thus far.

Here is a look at just a few of the memorable moments this rivalry has produced:

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices