Can someone round up Tom Hanks?
He needs to have a sit down with Ron Gardenhire, the Minnesota Twins and their fans.
We need good 'ol Tom to remind everyone, "There's no crying in baseball."
Enough already with the blown call by Phil Cuzzi on Joe Mauer's ground-rule double in the top of the 11th.
We all keep hearing the same argument: Mauer would have been on second and he would have scored on Jason Kubel's single on the next at-bat.
Stop right there. If you want to follow that line of logic then you're clueless.
Don't you think Demaso Marte would have pitched a little differently to Kubel if the go-ahead run is on second base?
How does anyone know that Kubel would have gotten the same pitch to hit? It's all speculation.
When you toe the rubber as a pitcher you pitch differently based on situations.
And I love when Gardenhire acts like Mauer would have definitely scored.
Please Ron, spare me the could have, should have, would have.
Why didn't someone at the press conference say, "Uh Ron. Would you have pitch hit for Kubel if Mauer doubled? Or would Kubel have bunted there?"
The odds are Kubel bunting are slim to none considering he only has three career sacrifice bunts. But the point is that even the approach of the batter changes based on situations. And in a pivotal Game Two of a short series you may do things as a manger that you might not do in the regular season.
And it would not be that outlandish to suggest a pinch hitter take Kubel's spot to lay down a sac-bunt.
I'm sure someone is going to say, "Why would you bunt with your DH. You wouldn't bunt if it was David Ortiz (or insert some other great DH hitter)."
Well guess what? Kubel isn't exactly lighting it up right now in this series. The guy took the collar in Game One and extended his oh-for streak into Game Two. When he stepped up to the plate he was 0-for-9 in the series.
How do we know what Gardenhire would have done in that spot?
And suppose there was a sac-bunt. Mauer would be on third with one out.
Would Joe Girardi walk the next batter to set up a double play? Would the batter after that ground into a double play to end the inning?
And what if Mauer does score based on everyone's chain of events.
Would Mark Teixeira still hit that laser beam to left field? Would the Yankees still have won? No one knows.
Don't act like you know the Twins would have won last night if Cuzzi makes the correct call. Neither you nor I knows what happens if Cuzzi makes the routine call.
But if Twins fans want something to cry about they might get it when the Yankees close out the Metrodome.
Like the new article format? Send us feedback!