Breaking News: Chief SEC Official Admits Blown Call Against Georgia
SEC Director of Officials Robert Redding admitted this afternoon that the officials blew the call for excessive celebration called on AJ Green after Georgia's last touchdown.
He also admitted that this call changed the probable outcome of the game. After the penalty gave LSU great field position, they won the game with 46 seconds left to play. Had they started from their own 20, or even further back, statistics say they probably would not have scored.
Redding's statement: "We looked at the TV broadcast and played it back and forth and tried to find out when the flag was thrown. We judge that the video evidence does not support that call on the field. We don't have anything to support the call."
No apology. No disciplinary action taken against the official (who was from Louisiana, by the way), and absolutely nothing the SEC could do to make this right to Georgia.
It is a foolish rule to begin with. As long as there is no taunting or obvious ill-will toward the opponent, I say let these kids celebrate. This hair-brained call may have just knocked the Bulldogs out of BCS contention.
In other news from the illustrious Chief Official regarding Blank's helmet to helmet late hit against Crompton in the Auburn-Tennessee game, they are awaiting the team's disciplinary action and will take it from there.
I am not sure what his punishment should be, but it was a blatant late hit and the official heard Blank comment to the poor guy when getting up that he would be back. This sounds like something a USC or Oklahoma player would do, not an SEC player, and I hope they zing him pretty good. There are plenty of others who are willing to take their shot at his position.
And that's all from here, thanks for the read!
What is the duplicate article?
Why is this article offensive?
Where is this article plagiarized from?
Why is this article poorly edited?