No South Africans Deemed Good Enough For LG ICC Awards

Sanjay DevaCorrespondent ISeptember 18, 2009

PORT ELIZABETH, SOUTH AFRICA - APRIL 13: South Africa fans show their support during the 4th ODI match between South Africa and Australia at Sahara Oval St Georges on April 13, 2009 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.  (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Not one South African features in the short list of the LG ICC awards for 2009, a measure of the outstanding players in the game.

It's a kick in the face, and hard to believe that the number 1 ranked test side, and recently no. 1 ranked one day side (Australia have an equal number of points, but have moved ahead on a mathematical difference for now) cannot have 1 player or official up for nomination.

Whilst there are some very good players nominated from other countries who deserve their nominations, the strength of the Proteas has been their team performances. As a unit they've excelled, which may be a reason why the ICC found it hard to single out members of their squad for individual recognition.

However a side cannot become no. 1 without stand out performances from individuals; and Graeme Smith, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe, Johan Botha and Wayne Parnell are players who stood out for me, and were deserving of higher accolades.


Here are the shortlisted nominees:

Cricketer of the Year

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Gautam Gambhir (Ind)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Andrew Strauss (Eng)

Test Player of the Year

Gautam Gambhir (Ind)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Thilan Samaraweera (SL)
Andrew Strauss (Eng)

ODI Player of the Year

Shivnarine Chanderpaul (WI)
Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Ind)
Virender Sehwag (Ind)
Yuvraj Singh (Ind)

Emerging Player

Ben Hilfenhaus (Aus)
Graham Onions (Eng)
Jesse Ryder (NZ)
Peter Siddle (Aus)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year

Rizwan Cheema (Can)
Ryan ten Doeschate (Ned)
William Porterfield (Ire)
Edgar Schiferli (Ned)

Twenty20 International Performance of the Year

Shahid Afridi (Pak)
Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)
Chris Gayle (WI)
Umar Gul (Pak)

Women's Cricketer of the Year

Charlotte Edwards (Eng)
Shelley Nitschke (Aus)
Claire Taylor (Eng)

Umpire of the Year

Aleem Dar
Tony Hill
Asad Rauf
Simon Taufel

Spirit of Cricket
New Zealand
Sri Lanka

As the no. 1 ranked test nation, I thought Graeme Smith and Dale Steyn were two stand out performers. Their omissions were hard to understand.

I am surprised to see Yuvraj Singh and Shivnarine Chandepaul in the ODI player of the year. Not 1 South African player made the long list of nominees, with some surprising names like Martin Guptil of New Zealand included.

Nothing against Guptil, but was not even one South African player worthy of inclusion?

The one that ranks the highest for me was the spirit of cricket award. I would like to think South Africa have conducted themselves in a very humble, manner and shown themselves to be great role models for their country. They have always played in the spirit of the game, and to not see their nomination is a major worry.

I would like to think there is nothing sinister in these nominations. Publicly the Proteas have remained very focused on the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy to be played in South Africa. Privately they'll have a little extra motivation to do well and show the ICC they have the best side, and the best players in the world!