Louis Van Gaal Confirms Netherlands 23-Man Squad for World Cup Finals

Ian RodgersWorld Football Staff WriterMay 31, 2014

AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS - MAY 17: Holland manager Louis van Gaal stands with assistant managers Danny Blind (L) and Patrick Kluivert (R) during the International Friendly match between The Netherlands and Ecuador at The Amsterdam Arena on May 17, 2014 in Amsterdam, Netherlands. (Photo by Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images)
Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images

Netherlands head coach Louis van Gaal has confirmed his 23-man squad for the World Cup finals in Brazil.

There are few surprises in the incoming Manchester United manager's party following the withdrawal of Hamburg midfielder Rafael van der Vaart through injury earlier this week.

The former Tottenham Hotspur and Real Madrid star suffered a calf injury in training, as John Drayton of the Daily Mail reported, and Van Gaal has called up Georginio Wijnaldum of PSV Eindhoven to replace him.

Schalke striker Klaas-Jan Huntelaar was delighted to see his name included in the travelling party, offering his glee on his official Twitter feed.

Van Gaal has kept an emphasis on experience as he prepares for the tournament, with high-profile names such as Robin van Persie, Wesley Sneijder and Arjen Robben among the travelling party.

AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS - MARCH 26:  Robin Van Persie (#9) of Netherlands celebrates with team mate Arjen Robben after scoring the second goal of the game during the the Group 4 FIFA 2014 World Cup Qualifier match between Netherlands and Romania at Amsterd
Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

But there is no place for young Chelsea defender Patrick van Aanholt, Karim Rekik of Manchester City and Feyenoord winger Jean-Paul Boetius.

PSV goalkeeper Jeroen Zoet, FC Twente winger Quincy Promes and Feyenoord midfielder Tonny Vilhena have also been left out of the final Netherlands squad.

The Dutch face Ghana in a World Cup warm-up match on Saturday night before rounding off their preparations with a match against Wales in Cardiff on Tuesday.

Holland open their Group B campaign when they line up against holders Spain on June 14, with games against Australia and Chile to follow.

Van Gaal will step down from his role at the end of his involvement in Brazil to take charge at Old Trafford ahead of the new Premier League season. 


Netherlands squad:

Goalkeepers: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax Amsterdam), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Michel Vorm (Swansea City)

Defenders: Daley Blind (Ajax Amsterdam), Stefan de Vrij, Daryl Janmaat, Terence Kongolo, Bruno Martins Indi (all Feyenoord), Paul Verhaegh (FC Augsburg), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Joel Veltman (Ajax Amsterdam)

Midfielders: Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea City), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Leroy Fer (Norwich City), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV Eindhoven)

Forwards: Memphis Depay (PSV Eindhoven), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Robin van Persie (Manchester United).