Rajasthan Royals vs. Delhi Daredevils, IPL 2014, Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Lee Walker@@Lee_BleacherRUK Managing EditorMay 15, 2014

Rajasthan Royals batsman Ajinkya Rahane raises his bat and helmet to celebrate scoring a century during their Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket match against Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bangalore, India, Sunday, April 15, 2012. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi/Associated Press

Delhi Daredevils' miserable Indian Premier League season continued as they were beaten by 62 runs by Rajasthan.

The Royals made 201-6 in their 20 overs at the Sardar Patel Stadium in Motera.

Kevin Pietersen's side could only muster 139-9 in their reply as they suffered their ninth loss in 11 games.

Ajinkya Rahane top-scored with 64 as Rajasthan closed in on a play-off berth after their seventh win of the campaign.

The opener's 50-ball innings featured eight boundaries and a six.

He departed in the 17th over but not before valuable partnerships of 49 with Kevon Cooper (32) and 74 with Sanju Samson (40) who both hit three maximums.

James Faulkner hit consecutive sixes in Rahul Shukla's final over to take RR past 200.

Rajasthan Royals: 201-6 (20 Overs)
Ajinkya Rahaneb Shahbaz Nadeem6450128.0081
Karun Nairlbw Shahbaz Nadeem1914135.7111
Kevon Cooperc Rahul Shukla b JP Duminy3216200.0023
Sanju Samsonc Kedar Jadhav b Imran Tahir4025160.0023
Stuart Binnyst Dinesh Karthik b Imran Tahir020.0000
Ben Cuttingrun out (Rahul Shukla)86133.3301
James FaulknerNOT OUT238287.5003
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 4, lb 10)15
JP Duminy302518.333
Rahul Shukla4044011.008
Siddarth Kaul3034011.335
Shahbaz Nadeem403528.758
Imran Tahir402526.257
Manoj Tiwary2028014.003

Pietersen promoted himself to the top of the order but was lucky that the umpire missed a clear run out. He could not take advantage of the reprieve, however, making 13 off 18 balls before being bowled by Rajat Bhatia's slower ball.

Delhi's top run scorer in the tournament, JP Duminy, only contributed eight and fellow import Ross Taylor four before becoming Bhatia's second victim.

Manoj Tiwary top-scored with an unbeaten 61, but he received precious little support from his struggling team-mates.

Delhi Daredevils: 139-9 (20 Overs)
Kevin Pietersenb Rajat Bhatia131872.2210
Mayank Agarwalc Steve Smith b James Faulkner1710170.0030
Dinesh Karthikc Ben Cutting b Dhawal Kulkarni3837.5000
JP Duminyc Karun Nair b Pravin Tambe88100.0001
Manoj TiwaryNOT OUT6144138.6352
Ross Taylorc & b Rajat Bhatia4580.0000
Kedar Jadhavrun out (Ben Cutting)33100.0000
Shahbaz Nadeemb Ben Cutting1425.0000
Imran Tahirb Stuart Binny4666.6610
Rahul Shuklac Steve Smith b Kevon Cooper1412116.6620
Siddarth KaulNOT OUT22100.0000
EXTRAS (w 6, lb 3)9
Dhawal Kulkarni412416.0010
Ben Cutting403117.759
James Faulkner10616.003
Kevon Cooper301916.338
Pravin Tambe302418.002
Rajat Bhatia301826.007
Stuart Binny201417.004

Delhi occupy bottom spot in the standings and are facing the wooden spoon for the second consecutive season.