Mumbai Indians vs. Royal Challengers Bangalore: Highlights, Scorecard, Report

Lee WalkerUK Managing EditorApril 19, 2014

South Africa's AB de Villiers attends a training session ahead of their ICC Twenty20 Cricket World Cup semifinal match against India in Dhaka, Bangladesh, Wednesday, April 2, 2014. (AP Photo/Aijaz Rahi)
Aijaz Rahi

Royal Challengers Bangalore recorded their second consecutive win in the 2014 Indian Premier League with a seven-wicket victory over Mumbai Indians.

Bangalore, having won the toss and elected to field, restricted the defending champions to 115-9 in their 20 overs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

RCB reached their target with 15 balls to spare as AB de Villiers and Parthiv Patel shared an unbroken 99-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Mumbai, who lost by 41 runs to Kolkata Knight Riders in the tournament opener, fell away after reaching the end of the Powerplay on 49-1.

Ambati Rayudu top-scored with 35, but his strike rate was under 100, and they lost captain Rohit Sharma and big-hitting West Indian Kieron Pollard cheaply in the middle of the innings.

The Indians made just 52 runs, losing six wickets in the process, in the second half of their innings with none of their batters hitting a six.

Mumbai: 115-9 (20 Overs)
Michael Husseyc Yuzvendra Chahal b Albie Morkel1615106.6620
Aditya Tarec Nic Maddinson b Varun Aaron171894.4420
Ambati Rayuduc AB de Villiers b Mitchell Starc353794.5910
Rohit Sharmac AB de Villiers b Yuzvendra Chahal2540.0000
Kieron Pollardc Sachin Rana b Yuzvendra Chahal3742.8500
Corey Andersonc Virat Kohli b Mitchell Starc181994.7320
Harbhajan Singhb Varun Aaron88100.0010
Zaheer Khanc Sachin Rana b Ashok Dinda020.0000
Lasith Malingarun out (Yuvraj Singh)2450.0000
Pragyan OjhaNOT OUT1520.0000
Jasprit BumrahNOT OUT11100.0000
EXTRAS (nb 1, w 7, b 1, lb 3)12
Mitchell Starc402125.2511
Albie Morkel302317.669
Varun Aaron403027.506
Yuzvendra Chahal401724.259
Ashok Dinda401413.5012
Yuvraj Singh10606.001

However Bangalore, who beat Delhi Daredevils by eight wickets on Thursday, stumbled in their reply.

Their star middle order duo of Virat Kohli and Yuvraj Singh were both dismissed for second-ball ducks as they slumped to 17-3.

RCB, already missing destructive opener Chris Gayle through injury, looked in trouble, but South African De Villiers and opener Patel revived their innings.

De Villiers hit the only six of the match, in making 45 from 48 balls, with Patel hitting the winning run to finish unbeaten on 57 from 45 balls.

Bangalore: 116-3 (17.3 Overs)
Nic Maddinsonb Lasith Malinga128150.0020
Parthiv PatelNOT OUT5745126.6670
Virat Kohlic Harbhajan Singh b Zaheer Khan020.0000
Yuvraj Singhlbw Zaheer Khan020.0000
AB de VilliersNOT OUT454893.7531
EXTRAS (w 1, lb 1)2EXTRAS (w 1, lb 1)2EXTRAS
Zaheer Khan402125.2512
Harbhajan Singh401403.5012
Lasith Malinga3.302918.289
Jasprit Bumrah201407.004
Pragyan Ojha403709.255

Bangalore next play Kolkata on Thursday in Sharjah while Mumbai look for their first win against Chennai 24 hours later.