Los Angeles Lakers logoLos Angeles Lakers

Los Angeles Lakers Really Won 10th NBA Title

ORLANDO, FL - JUNE 14:  Pau Gasol #16 of the Los Angeles Lakers holds up the Larry O'Brien trophy after the Lakers defeated the Orlando Magic 99-86 in Game Five of the 2009 NBA Finals on June 14, 2009 at Amway Arena in Orlando, Florida.  NOTE TO USER:  User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and or using this photograph, User is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement.  (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)
Craig ShoreyContributor IJune 15, 2009

The Los Angeles Lakers are the NBA Champions, but they are not going to win any math contests. This is not their 15th championship.

The Lakers and Boston Celtics have battled to be the best in the NBA for a long time. The Celtics have maintained the overall edge in this battle by winning more championships.

To compete with the Celtics for the total number of banners, the Lakers stole five championships and, in one single night, put five banners up in their rafters.

How could they do this?

They laid claim to five titles won by the Minneapolis Lakers.

If the L.A. Lakers had wanted these titles early on after the move from Minnesota, then there would be no beef. Yet, they waited more than 30 years to claim these titles. That is way too long.

In today’s sports climate, the Los Angeles Lakers would not even be able to call themselves the Lakers, much less lift these five titles. Just ask the fans of the Seattle Sonics, who ensured that Oklahoma City would not take their titles.

Hollywood is infamous for making changes to a story for dramatic affect, and it has managed to do the same thing with its beloved L.A. Lakers. It is time for the record to be set straight and the stolen titles returned to NBA fans in Minnesota.

Congratulations to the L.A. Lakers on winning their 10th NBA championship.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices