Selecting a Team to Challenge the Players' World XV

« Prev
1 of 17
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Selecting a Team to Challenge the Players' World XV
Hannah Johnston/Getty Images

At the conclusion of the 2013 international season, the International Rugby Players Association (IRPA) named a Players' World XV for the year. It is indeed a very good team and in most cases a good reflection of who the world's stand out players were from the past 12 months.

But there is plenty of quality in world rugby at the moment and while finding 15 men that could beat this team would be a challenge, this slideshow sets out to do this. Match-ups are not necessarily looked at, to the point that this slideshow looks to include the second best player in each position, rather than include the one who will be a more troublesome opponent to their opposite man.

The team picked by the IRPA is as follows and all of these players are off limits for this slideshow:

15. Leigh Halfpenny, 14. Ben Smith, 13. Conrad Smith, 12. Wesley Fofana, 11. George North, 10. Aaron Cruden, 9. Aaron Smith, 8. Kieran Read, 7. Sam Warburton, 6. Liam Messam, 5. Sam Whitelock, 4. Eben Etzebeth, 3. Adam Jones, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Alex Corbisiero.

Begin Slideshow »
Rugby Union

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.