World Cup Draw Date 2014: Start Time, Teams Involved and Live Stream Info

Tom Sunderland@@TomSunderland_Featured ColumnistDecember 5, 2013

ZURICH, SWITZERLAND - OCTOBER 20:  FIFA World Cup Trophy is presented after the FIFA Executive Committee Meeting on October 20, 2011 in Zurich, Switzerland. During this third meeting of the year, held on two days, the FIFA Executive Committee will approve the match schedules for the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 and the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil.  (Photo by Harold Cunningham/Getty Images)
Harold Cunningham/Getty Images

Friday ushers in the next step of the 2014 World Cup journey, when fans will finally find out whom their nations or favourite stars will be pitted against in Brazil next summer.

A total of 32 countries await FIFA's World Cup draw, with eight groups of four to be determined ahead of what's shaping up to be a South American spectacle, even by normal competition standards.

Read on for all the vital information on how to watch the draw live, as well as a breakdown of each pot, highlighting which sides might have a shot at making it all the way in Rio, not to mention who's bound to fall at the first hurdle.


Date: Friday, Dec. 6

Time: 1 p.m. local time/4 p.m. GMT/11 a.m. ET

Venue: Costa do Sauipe Resort, Mata de Sao Joao, Bahia, Brazil

Stream: SkyGo app (subscription required), Official FIFA app 


2014 FIFA World Cup Draw Pots
Pot 1Pot 2Pot 3 Pot 4
BrazilAlgeriaIranBosnia and Herzegovina
GermanyIvory CoastJapanEngland
ArgentinaGhanaSouth KoreaFrance
ColombiaNigeriaCosta RicaGreece


Pot One

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - NOVEMBER 24: Brazil's football team coach Luiz Felipe Scolari speaks during the presentation of the new uniform for Brazil 2014 FIFA World Cup, on November 24, 2013 in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.  (Photo by Buda Mendes/Getty Images)
Buda Mendes/Getty Images

Pot One's inhabitants have been known for the longest period and are comprised of the globe's top seven seeded countries, according to FIFA's rankings, who managed to qualify for the finals through their group stage finish.

The eighth side is none other than hosts Brazil who, although outside the world's top eight at this moment, will assuredly be considered as one of the favourites to keep win title on home soil.

Luiz Felipe Scolari has created an attacking machine over the last year, his side winning their last six games on the trot, scoring an average of more than three goals per outing in those matches.

Other giants expecting to make some waves in Rio will be the likes of Germany (constant title contenders), Belgium (flying the hipster flag), Colombia (Jose Pekerman's South American sensations) and of course the defending world and European champions Spain.

Switzerland arise as somewhat of a shock inclusion in Pot One, but will undoubtedly benefit in the group allocation as a result of their priority placement.


Pot Two

COLUMBUS, OH - OCTOBER 30:  Fans of the US Women's National Team cheer before a game against New Zealand at Columbus Crew Stadium on October 30, 2013 in Columbus, Ohio.  (Photo by Jamie Sabau/Getty Images)
Jamie Sabau/Getty Images

The five qualified CAF teams will all come out of Pot Two as the best and brightest of Africa meet Chile and Ecuador in the smallest of the four pools.

As things stand, no African team has yet made the semi-final stage of a World Cup, never mind go on to win the whole thing.

PORT ELIZABETH, SOUTH AFRICA - FEBRUARY 09, Ghana team photo during the 2013 Orange African Cup of Nations 3rd and 4th Play-Off match between Mali and Ghana from Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on February 09, 2013 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. (Photo by Ri
Gallo Images/Getty Images

Ghana came close to breaking that record in South Africa four years ago having made the 2010 World Cup quarter-finals and the Black Stars will again be one of those teams to keep an eye on in Brazil.

Chile will be another team to watch out for in 2014, the South American bastions winning seven of their last 11 matches and losing just the one on the road to Rio.


Pot Three

TORONTO, ON - NOVEMBER 19:  Members of Chile pose for a team photo prior to facing Brazil during a friendly match at Rogers Centre on November 19, 2013 in Toronto, Canada.  (Photo by Dave Sandford/Getty Images)
Dave Sandford/Getty Images

Pot Three is comprised of talents from CONCACAF and the AFC, with the best that Asia and Northern and Central America have to offer being thrown into the mix.

The United States and Mexico will be looking for as comfortable a World Cup ride as possible in the hopes that they'll make an impact once more next summer, making it past the group stage in two of the last three tournaments. Meanwhile, South Korea and Japan shine as their continent's best hopes of producing a winner.

For Honduras, 2014 will mark the first time that the nation has ever appeared in back-to-back World Cups, while Iran are hoping to simply make it past the tournament's group phase for the first time in their history.


Pot Four

Nothing but UEFA will be drawn from Pot Four on Friday in a grouping that, according to the official FIFA rankings, isn't far off Pot One in terms of quality.

With giants such as Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, France and England about, there's an average FIFA seeding of 14 among the final nine.

However, while those teams may draw the eye, the likes of Greece, Croatia and Russia may let the European brigade down, capable of producing a staunch bid on their day but all suffering when it comes to consistency.

Didier Deschamps' France only just made it through the UEFA playoffs thanks to a second-leg turnaround against Ukraine, but will be hoping to put the demons of 2010 behind them, where they infamously claimed just one point from an extremely disappointing tournament.

Bosnia will also be an intriguing side to watch, having finished qualification as one of UEFA's highest scorers, so long as the fitness of Edin Dzeko and Vedad Ibisevic can be maintained in the months to come.


    Where Is Zidane's Praise?

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Where Is Zidane's Praise?

    Rory Smith
    via Nytimes

    Real Madrid Beat Bayern 2-1 in 1st Leg

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Real Madrid Beat Bayern 2-1 in 1st Leg

    Rory Marsden
    via Bleacher Report

    Ranking Prem's Top 100 Stars

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Ranking Prem's Top 100 Stars

    Sam Tighe
    via Bleacher Report

    Liverpool 'Tell' Madrid £200M Not Enough for Salah

    World Football logo
    World Football

    Liverpool 'Tell' Madrid £200M Not Enough for Salah

    Alex Keble
    via Bleacher Report