Pakistan vs. South Africa, T20 Series 2013: Scorecard and Recap from Dubai

Greg Johnson@gregianjohnsonSpecial to Bleacher ReportNovember 15, 2013

BIRMINGHAM, ENGLAND - JUNE 10:  AB de Villiers (C)  the captain of South Africa leads the celebrations after Faf Du Plessis (2R) caught Kamran Akmal of Pakistan during the ICC Champions Trophy Group B match between Pakistan and South Africa at Edgbaston on June 10, 2013 in Birmingham, England.  (Photo by Michael Steele/Getty Images)
Michael Steele/Getty Images

South Africa beat Pakistan by six runs at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium to claim both the match and settle the two nations' T20 series 2-0 in their favour.

It was another Pakistani batting collapse that ultimately delivered victory to Faf du Plessis' men who triggered the meltdown in the 14th over.

Up until that point, their opponents had looked fairly comfortable as they chased 151, yet soon they were rattled with seven wickets taken over just 43 runs.

The South Africa captain was satisfied with series win, telling ESPN CricInfo:

We played really well under pressure and Pakistan were in a position to win but we pulled it back remarkably. We said we wanted to come here and win 2-0 and we did that.

As a bowling unit we have certainly grown a lot over the last couple of months. Credit to them for the time and effort they have put into it. There is always room for improvement.

Improvement within their batting line-up is arguably what set the Proteas on the course to victory.

Youngster de Kock was in good form.
Youngster de Kock was in good form.Gallo Images/Getty Images

Openers Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla and du Plesis all came up big during South Africa's innings, bringing home 30, 48 and 58 runs respectively.

Pakistan's bowlers did react and were able to slow but not stop their opponents. 

By contrast, Pakistan were very disappointing with the bat, although they can rightly feel aggrieved over the first-ball dismissal of their captain, Mohammed Hafeez, for lbw.

The lack of Hawkeye or other video-review technologies meant that justice was not done, adding a fleck of controversy to the tie.

Hafeez: Gone in one.
Hafeez: Gone in one.Gallo Images/Getty Images

It was hardly an excuse worthy of absolving Pakistan's other batters however, although Sohaib Maqsood can be proud of his admirable attempts to offer a one-man show of defiance as he attempted to haul the Men in Green to glory.

He made 37 runs from 26 balls as Pakistan's main hope following the breaking of their opening pair Nasir Jamshed and Ahmed Shehzad who were both caught out after 20 and 14 balls, respectively.

COLOMBO, SRI LANKA - OCTOBER 02:  Nasir Jamshed of Pakistan bats during the  ICC World Twenty20 2012 Super Eights Group 2 match between Australia and Pakistan at R. Premadasa Stadium on October 2, 2012 in Colombo, Sri Lanka.  (Photo by Pal Pillai/Getty Im
Pal Pillai/Getty Images

Jamshed was able to record 19 runs, while Shehzad added 21.

With Hafeez third batsman, Shehzard, the captain and Jamshed all fell within the space of nine balls, pointing at the implosion that was to come.

More difficulties followed as Shoaib Malik was forced to leave the field due to a bloodied finger, forcing Umar Akmal to take to the crease, yet he didn't last long and precipitated Pakistan's demise.

Once again batting let us down,we shud get rid of some old horses & build a young team at least for T20.Avg age of this team is almost 28 yr

— Mirza Iqbal Baig (@mirzaiqbal80) November 15, 2013

As Maqsood tried to hold on, Malik was caught out after 12 balls with Abdul Razzaq taken with just one delivery by South Africa's Imran Tahir. He was bowled after leaving a googly and Maqsood soon followed.

Shahid Afridi and Sohail Tanvir were the two last men standing who could save the day for Pakistan but a spectacular catch by de Plesis caught out the former after Tanvir was bowled out by Dale Steyn.

Hafeez and his men must now prepare themselves for a couple of T20 fixtures against Proteas in South Africa, although on this showing they may have to approach those matches with trepidation rather than thoughts of revenge.

South Africa's 150 for 5 (20.0 overs)
Quinton de Kock (W)c subb Saeed Ajmal301960
Hashim Amlac Shoaib Malikb Saeed Ajmal484132
Faf du Plessis (C)not out584813
AB de Villiersc Nasir Jamshedb Sohail Tanvir5610
David Millerlbwb Saeed Ajmal4400
Henry Davidsb Sohail Tanvir0200
Ryan McLaren
Wayne Parnell
Dale Steyn
Lonwabo Tsotsobe
Imran Tahir
Totalfor 5150
Mohammad Irfan1.40120
Abdul Razzaq10140
Shoaib Malik1.20120
Sohail Tanvir40212
Saeed Ajmal40253
Mohammad Hafeez40210
Shahid Afridi40430
Fall of Wicket
37Quinton de Kock
115Hashim Amla
137AB de Villiers
147David Miller
150Henry Davids
Pakistan's 144 for 9 (20.0 overs)
Nasir Jamshedc Hashim Amlab Henry Davids192030
Ahmed Shehzadc Ryan McLarenb Wayne Parnell211430
Mohammad Hafeez (C)lbwb Wayne Parnell0100
Shoaib Malikb Imran Tahir151810
Sohaib Maqsoodc Quinton de Kockb Wayne Parnell372621
Umar Akmal (W)c Imran Tahirb Ryan McLaren111210
Abdul Razzaqb Imran Tahir0100
Shahid Afridic Faf du Plessisb Dale Steyn141001
Sohail Tanvirb Dale Steyn6510
Saeed Ajmalnot out71000
Mohammad Irfannot out2400
TotalFor 9144
Dale Steyn41202
Lonwabo Tsotsobe30300
Ryan McLaren40381
Wayne Parnell40253
Henry Davids1061
Imran Tahir40212
Fall of Wicket
39Ahmed Shehzad
39Mohammad Hafeez
46Nasir Jamshed
101Umar Akmal
112Shoaib Malik
112Abdul Razzaq
112Sohaib Maqsood
121Sohail Tanvir
139Shahid Afridi


    Live: England vs. Australia, 3rd ODI

    Cricket logo

    Live: England vs. Australia, 3rd ODI

    via ESPNcricinfo

    England vs India: Ben Stokes Ruled Out Of T20 Series; Curran Brothers Included

    Cricket logo

    England vs India: Ben Stokes Ruled Out Of T20 Series; Curran Brothers Included

    Mustafizur Rahman Fails To Recover From Foot Injury, Ruled Out Of West Indies Tour

    Cricket logo

    Mustafizur Rahman Fails To Recover From Foot Injury, Ruled Out Of West Indies Tour

    Samrat Chakraborty

    Dawid Malan dropped from England squad for Twenty20 series

    Cricket logo

    Dawid Malan dropped from England squad for Twenty20 series

    Ali Martin
    via the Guardian