Rory McIlroy Speaks out on Tiger Woods and Brandel Chamblee Controversy

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Rory McIlroy Speaks out on Tiger Woods and Brandel Chamblee Controversy
(Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images)

Consider Rory McIlroy—current World No. 6 and one of the most recognizable names in all of golf—on the side of Tiger Woods in the ongoing feud between the world's No. 1 golfer and columnist Brandel Chamblee. 

The latter made waves on Oct. 15 when he gave Woods an "F" in his season-ending grades column for Golf Magazine. He told a story of being given an "F" when he cheated on a math test in grade school and compared that scenario to Woods being "a little cavalier" with the rules.

Unsurprisingly, not many people took kindly to his comments, and McIlroy is the most recent to speak out on the situation, according to the Agence France-Presse (via USA Today's Steve DiMeglio):

Yeah, I think Brandel was completely wrong. I don't think he has the authority to say anything like that about Tiger Woods...People wouldn't know who Brandel Chamblee was if it wasn't for Tiger Woods, so I am completely against what he said and I think he should be dealt with in the right way.

Being "dealt with in the right way" is something that has already been discussed. A few days after the column was posted, Woods' agent, Mark Steinberg, suggested legal action may be necessary, per Yahoo! Sports' Shane Bacon.    

Just a couple of days ago, Woods spoke publicly for the first time, telling the Associated Press, via, "The ball really is in the court of the Golf Channel and what they are prepared to do."

For what it's worth, Chamblee took to Twitter to apologize last week:

Nevertheless, the damage has been done, and Woods and McIlroy—among othersdon't seem ready to let Chamblee off the hook. 

Do you agree with McIlroy's comments?

Submit Vote vote to see results

Woods, who had five PGA Tour victories and was named the PGA of America Player of the Year, was involved in four rules incidents this season, per DiMeglio's report. 

The infamous one came at the Masters, where he ended up taking a two-stroke penalty.

During two others, his playing partners said what he did (taking relief in Abu Dhabi and taking a drop at The Players) was fine, per DiMeglio. At the BMW Championship, he was given a penalty for moving his ball slightly in the woods.  

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.