2009 Indianapolis 500 Driver Facts

Ken SeversonContributor IMay 23, 2009

INDIANAPOLIS - MAY 22:  A general view of cars exiting pit lane during Miller Lite Carb Day practice for the IRL IndyCar Series 93rd running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 22, 2009 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Indiana.  (Photo by Donald Miralle/Getty Images)

Indianapolis 500 Driver Facts

Former winners in the race (4): Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002), Dan Wheldon (2005), Dario Franchitti (2007), Scott Dixon (2008).

IRL race winners (13): Helio Castroneves, Ryan Briscoe, Dario Franchitti, Graham Rahal, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Marco Andetti, Danica Patrick, Justin Wilson, Dan Wheldon, Scott Sharp, Tomas Scheckter, Ryan Hunter-Reay.

CART/Champ Car race winners (13): Helio Castroneves, Dario Franchitti, Scott Dixon, Tony Kanaan, Will Power, Paul Tracy, Justin Wilson, Robert Doornbos, Oriol Servia, John Andretti,  Nelson Philippe, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Alex Tagliani.

NASCAR race winners (1): John Andretti.

IRL Series Champions: Scott Dixon (2008, 2003), Dario Franchitti (2007), Dan Wheldon (2005), Tony Kanaan (2004), Scott Sharp (2006).

Rookies (5): Raphael Matos, Robert Doornbos, Mike Conway, Nelson Philippe, Alex Tagliani.

Nationalities represented: United States - 11 (Graham Rahal, Marco Andretti, Danica Patrick, Ed Carpenter, A.J. Foyt IV, Scott Sharp, Sarah Fisher, Davey Hamilton, Townsend Bell, John Andretti, Ryan Hunter-Reay)

Brazil - 5 (Helio Castroneves, Tony Kanaan, Mario Moraes, Vitor Meira, Raphael Matos)

England - 4 (Justin Wilson, Dan Wheldon, Alex Lloyd, Mike Conway)

Australia - 2 (Ryan Briscoe, Will Power

Canada - 2 (Paul Tracy, Alex Tagliani)

Venezuela - 2 (E.J. Viso, Milka Duno)

Scotland - 1 (Dario Franchitti)

New Zealand - 1 (Scott Dixon)

Japan - 1 (Hideki Mutoh)

The Netherlands - 1 (Robert Doornbos)

Spain - 1 (Oriol Servia)

South Africa - 1 (Tomas Scheckter)

France - 1 (Nelson Philippe)