Mexico Winners and Losers at the Gold Cup So Far

« Prev
1 of 7
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Mexico Winners and Losers at the Gold Cup So Far
Otto Greule Jr/Getty Images
Mexico is the most successful team in the Gold Cup, with six titles.

Mexico has never missed the knockout stage of the Gold Cup, but this edition has been a nightmare for El Tri.

This squad is an alternate group. Forget about Javier Hernández, Andrés Guardado, Jesus Corona or Giovani dos Santos—the biggest names are those of Marco Fabian, Israel Jimenez, Javier Cortes and Raul Jimenez.

In the opening match, El Tri lost for the first time in history to Panama. The team secured its first victory against Canada, which gave Jose Manuel de la Torre a breath of fresh air but did not convince the fans.

In the last game of the group stage against Martinique, Mexico won 3-1, which reminded us of the low level of this team.

El Tri has never won the Gold Cup when it has qualified for the knockout stage in second place, which is precisely the case this year.

Begin Slideshow »
Mexico (National Football)

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.