Detroit Red Wings Re-Sign Drew Miller, Henrik Zetterberg Wins Foundation Award

Eric McKelvieSenior Writer IJune 15, 2013

DETROIT, MI - JANUARY 22: Drew Miller #20 of the Detroit Red Wings skates against the Dallas Stars at Joe Louis Arena on January 22, 2013 in Detroit, Michigan. (Photo by Gregory Shamus/Getty Images)
Gregory Shamus/Getty Images

Fans of the Detroit Red Wings received some good news on Friday. Drew Miller agreed to a new three-year deal with the club and captain Henrik Zetterberg was given the NHL Foundation Player Award.


Red Wings Re-Sign Drew Miller

According to Ansar Khan of, Miller signed a three-year, $4.05 million contract that carries a cap hit of $1.35 million per season. 

The 29-year-old New Jersey native had four goals and four assists in 44 games this season before missing time with a broken hand. However, Miller did return in the second round of the playoffs against the Chicago Blackhawks, registering a goal and an assist in six games.

He was selected in the sixth round, 186th overall by the Anaheim Ducks in the 2003 NHL entry draft. Miller suited up for the Michigan State Spartans for three seasons between 2003-04 and 2005-06, before joining the Portland Pirates of the AHL.

Miller may not be the fastest or most skilled player on the roster, but he consistently does the little things needed to win. He plays a sound defensive game, especially on the penalty kill, and despite his size, he does add some toughness to the lineup. Miller ranked second on the team in hits and fourth in blocked shots in 2013.


Foundation Award Presented to Henrik Zetterberg

The Foundation Award is presented to a player "who applies the core values of (ice) hockey—commitment, perseverance and teamwork—to enrich the lives of people in his community," per

Zetterberg is known for his work within the Detroit community and with charities around the globe. This includes work with children, fire departments and funding an annual scholarship for a high school hockey player.

Past winners of the award include Rick Nash, Joe Sakic, Jarome Iginla, Ron Francis and Darren McCarty. McCarty won the award back in 2003 and is the only other Red Wing to have received the honor.


Stats courtesy of