Dortmund vs. Bayern: What You Need to Know About the Champions League Final

« Prev
1 of 8
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Dortmund vs. Bayern: What You Need to Know About the Champions League Final
Harold Cunningham/Getty Images

First, the specifics.

The 2012-13 UEFA Champions League final will be played at London’s Wembley Stadium on Saturday, May 25 (kickoff 7:45pm BST; 2:45pm ET; 11:45am PT).

The participants, for the first time in history, will be a pair of German teams—Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich—and Dortmund, as determined at the April 12 draw, will be the home team.

For the match, itself, UEFA’s standard rules will apply: a 90-minute contest followed, if necessary, by 30 minutes of extra time divided into two periods and followed by penalty kicks should a stalemate remain.

Bayern, of course, lost last season’s Champions League final to Chelsea on penalties and will be looking to win a fifth European Cup (and first since 2001). Dortmund, on the other hand, are after their second Champions League crown, having previously won it in 1997.

Those are the basics, but there’s a lot more you should know about this month’s final, and over the next few slides we’ll examine the team news, statistics, head-to-head records and other items of interest that will have you prepared for the biggest match of the year.

Let’s get to it.

Begin Slideshow »
Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

World Football

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.