Melodie Daoust Headlines CIS Women's Hockey Awards Night in Toronto

Mark StaffieriContributor IIMarch 7, 2013

Image obtained from
Image obtained from

As a prelude to the Canadian Interuniversity Sport national championships, awards night was held on March 6 in Toronto as a way to honor the greatest in CIS women’s hockey. McGill Martlets forward Melodie Daoust continues to enhance her standing as one of the elite women’s hockey players in Canada by claiming the Brodrick Trophy.

Awarded to the most outstanding player in Canadian Interuniversity Sport women’s hockey, the second year forward has become the first player in the history of CIS to have won the Rookie of the Year Award and Brodrick Trophy in consecutive seasons. Earlier in the season, Daoust also helped Canada capture the gold medal at the 2013 MLP Nations Cup.

Following in the legacy of McGill players Kim St-Pierre (who won the award in 2003) and Ann-Sophie Bettez (the 2012 winner), Daoust is the third player in McGill history to win the Brodrick Trophy. For the second consecutive season, she has won the conference scoring title—recording 54 points, she managed to break the conference scoring record.

In addition, her 54 points helped her capture the CIS national scoring title this season. While Daoust and the Martlets did not qualify for the CIS Nationals, the squad enjoyed an undefeated regular season. Of note, Daoust beat out fellow nominees Alex Normore of the St. FX X-Women, Amanda Parkins of the Guelph Gryphons and Hayley Wickenheiser of the Calgary Dinos.

Three other awards were given out during the gala, and Christine Grant became the first player in the history of the Guelph Gryphons to capture the CIS Rookie of the Year Award. Statistically, her teammate (and fellow rookie) Amanda Parkins had a superior season.

With Parkins having won the Ontario University Athletics scoring title and conference MVP award, she was nominated for the Brodrick instead. Grant accumulated 14 goals and 18 assists—her 32-point campaign put her in fourth for the OUA scoring title.

The Marion Hilliard Award recognizes a player’s commitment to hockey, academics and community service. Although the 2012 winner, Jill Morillo was nominated again—however, she would not claim the award a second time.

Kayla Blackmore, the captain of the St. Thomas Tommies claimed the award in her final season of eligibility. Among her charitable work, Blackmore has worked with the Canadian Mental Health Association and Breast Cancer Awareness. Of note, she introduced You Can Play to St. Thomas athletics. It is an initiative that looks to eradicate homophobic behavior and discrimination throughout athletics.

Along with her studies in history, Blackmore is a part-time hockey coach. She has served on the coaching staff of the New Brunswick Under-17 provincial team. Along with Jill Morillo, the other nominees for the award included Cassie Seguin (Ottawa) and Tanya Morgan (Calgary).

History continued to be made during the evening as Graham Thomas became the first head coach in University of British Columbia history to be named as CIS Coach of the Year. Having inherited a squad that finished 2011-12 with a dismal 1-21-2 record, Thomas led them to the 2013 Canada West postseason title. Along with Thomas, UBC goaltender Danielle Dube (a former member of the Canadian national team) was named an All-Canadian.