Dani Cameranesi Wins the 2013 Minnesota Ms Hockey Award

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
Dani Cameranesi Wins the 2013 Minnesota Ms Hockey Award
(Left to right) Cameranesi and fellow finalists Kate Flug, Paige Haley and Kate Schipper. All four have committed to the Minnesota Golden Gophers program. (Image obtained from Golden Gophers twitter: https://twitter.com/MNWomensHockey)

On February 24, 2013, the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet at the St. Paul RiverCentre named Dani Cameranesi as the winner of the 18th Annual Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award. The award is presented to the top girls’ high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota. Also named as the Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year, she logged 54 goals with the Blake School.

With the Blake School, she accumulated an astounding 97 points (57 goals and 40 assists), while logging at least one point in every regular season game. The last time that she was unable to register a point for Blake was on February 4, 2012. During the season, Cameranesi led Blake to a 22-5-3 record.

In addition, she helped Blake claim their fourth ever Class A State Championship in a 7-2 win over top-ranked Warroad with one goal and one assist. She was named to the Class A All-Tournament Team as she logged seven points during the State Tournament. It was Blake’s first appearance in the state tournament since 2009.

During the last two season, she was the team captain for the Blake School, while earning four nods to the All-State team. She has also volunteered with various charities including Feed My Starving Children, Mary’s Place and Toys for Tots.

Cameranesi has also competed with the United States Under-18 National Women’s Team and has participated at the 2012 and the 2013 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championships. She was the US captain in 2013 and has claimed the silver medal in both tournaments.

She is the 14th winner in the history of the award to have committed to the Minnesota Golden Gophers since it began in 1996. Next season, she will join 2012 winner Hannah Brandt and 2010 winner Bethany Brausen on the Gophers.

Three other finalists for the Minnesota Ms. Hockey Award will also be joining Cameranesi with the Gophers: Kate Flug from Roseville, Paige Haley from Red Wing and Kate Schipper from Breck. With the Gophers having enjoyed a 34-0 regular season in 2012-13, the arrival of Cameranesi and the other finalists makes Minnesota an early pre-season favourite to top such lofty heights again next year.

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Basketball

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.