New Zealand Teams Playing All the Rugby in Super 14

Dumont WalkerSenior Analyst IMarch 31, 2009

EDINBURGH, SCOTLAND -  MAY 30: Nick Phipps of Australia  races towards the try line persued by Lote Raikabula during the match between Australia and New Zealand during the the IRB Edinburgh Sevens Festival at Murrayfield Stadium on May 30, 2010 in Edinburgh, Scotland. (Photo by Ian MacNicol/Getty Images)
Ian MacNicol/Getty Images

Another week has gone by, and with the 6-Nations completed in Europe we can once again turn our attention to the young Super 14 season that is shaping up in the Southern Hemisphere.

Lucky for all you Walker-Sports fans, we access to the rugby geniuses over at Heavens Game, to help break down the 2009 Super 14 rugby season. This time the boys over at Heavens Game are breaking down the New Zealanders efforts in the Super 14 fixtures.

As we approach round 8 of the 2009 Super 14 it is easy to see which teams are easy on the eye to watch, for the most part they are the kiwi teams.

Before looking at the tries scored table it wouldn't have been too hard to work out who would be on top, most people would have guessed The Waikato Chiefs would be up there, but The Auckland Blues on top of the charts with 26 tries scored also?

Unfortunately for Blues fans, they also top the tries conceded chart with 29 which goes a long way to explaining their likely non attendance in this seasons finals.

Queensland have been portraying themselves as the great entertainers however they lie in sixth position on tries scored, so a little work on the finishing may be in order.

In all four of the top five positions in the tries scored column are occupied by teams from the land of the long white cloud.

The moral of the story here is that if you want tries, go see a kiwi team play, apart from the Crusaders as they are the misers in defence and average in attack.

Tries Scored in 2009 Super 14

26 Blues
26 Chiefs
21 Sharks
20 Hurricanes
19 Highlanders
17 Queensland Reds
16 Stormers
16 Bulls
15 Crusaders
15 Waratahs
14 Lions
13 Brumbies
12 Force
9 Cheetahs


Tries Conceded in 2009 Super 14

29 Blues
23 Cheetahs
22 Lions
20 Brumbies
19 Hurricanes
18 Chiefs
16 Force
16 Highlanders
15 Queensland Reds
14 Bulls
14 Sharks
13 Waratahs
11 Stormers
10 Crusaders

<br /></a><div class=

Powered by FeedBurner