2015 Rugby World Cup Draw Analysis: No Easy Road

« Prev
1 of 6
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
2015 Rugby World Cup Draw Analysis: No Easy Road
David Rogers/Getty Images
The 2015 draw took place in London on December 3, 2012.

In early December, the pool draw for the 2015 Rugby World Cup took place in London, following the IRB's November international test window. The results of those November matches helped determine which of rugby's elite nations would win a place in one of the top two bands of the draw by virtue of their standing in the IRB world rankings. 

Positions such as these are historically coveted, because they offer a smoother perceived pathway to the tournament's quarterfinal stages.

But is that really the case?

In this exclusive Bleacher Report analysis, we break down the results of the 2015 Rugby World Cup draw, to see which, if any, of the world's rugby nations gained an edge from their pool allocation and which may have reason to worry.

We begin with Pool A and a nervous host nation.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

Team StreamTM

Rugby Union

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.