Jenson Button and Lewis Hamilton Find Success at 2009 Australian Grand Prix

Daniel GoochAnalyst IMarch 29, 2009

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 29:  Jenson Button of Great Britain and Brawn GP celebrates on the podium after winning the Australian Formula One Grand Prix at the Albert Park Circuit on March 29, 2009 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

I like little more than to hear the English national anthem being played on loud speakers after a victorious sporting event. After today, I'm guessing Jenson Button has the same feeling after he won the Australian Grand Prix, with World Champion Lewis Hamilton moving from 18th to finish third.

This season's opening grand prix in Melbourne was a huge success for Button and Hamilton.

Jenson's career was hanging by a thread at Christmas as he had no team to drive for after his former team, Honda, pulled out of the competition due to financial problems.

Now with the new team on the block, Brawn GP, he has made his mark by winning their first ever race. To top it off, teammate Barrichelo finished just behind him in second. This is Button's second victory in his 10th season.

Hamilton, who was positioned 18th at the start of the race, stormed his way through the pack to finish in fourth. This result was then made even better when third place Jarno Trulli received a 25-second penalty for illegally overtaking under the safety car near the end of the race.

Congratulations to the British drivers!


Final Standings

1. Jenson Button (Gbr) Brawn GP

2. Rubens Barrichello (Bra) Brawn GP 

3. Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) McLaren 

4. Timo Glock (Ger) Toyota 

5. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Renault

6. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Williams

7. Sebastien Buemi (Swi) Scuderia Toro Rosso

8. Sebastien Bourdais (Fra) Scuderia Toro Rosso

9. Adrian Sutil (Ger) Force India

10. Nick Heidfeld (Ger) BMW Sauber

11. Giancarlo Fisichella (Ita) Force India

12. Jarno Trulli (Ita) Toyota

13. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull

14. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull

15. Robert Kubica (Pol) BMW Sauber

16. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Ferrari

Not Classified: 17 Felipe Massa (Bra) Ferrari, 18 Nelson Piquet Jr. (Bra) Renault, 19 Kazuki Nakajima (Jpn) Williams, 20 Heikki Kovalainen (Fin) McLaren.